We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent location in downtown Indy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Indianapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Indianapolis to your Saves list
JW Marriott Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South West Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laredo, Texas
1 review
“Great hotel, excellent location in downtown Indy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If I ever need to get back to Indianapolis, there will not be a decision to be made as to what hotel to stay at, it will be the JW Marriott. The staff was attentive and the hotel was very clean. The restaurants have a great variety of selection but the sports bar was the best. The location of the hotel cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Standard king room is large enough for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We loved having you with us, and hope to welcome you back in the future. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    233
    80
    21
    15
See reviews for
145
207
31
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The one thing great about this hotel is the location. If you're wanting to go shopping, hit the convention center or go to a game at Lucas Oil Stadium then a skywalk connects everything. You don't have to walk outside for anything. The rooms were spacious. The pool lacked size. The gym was state of the art and was very impressed with that. Great job JW. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has all the amenities including Starbucks on site and excellent restaurants. It is very centrally located and connected to the Convention Center and other Marriott's via a "worm crawl" system. There are tons of meeting rooms and ballrooms and the banquet food quality and service is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

3-day business conference - never left the hotel. The room was very clean, nicely decorated and well organized. Food in the restaurant and from catering was excellent. Excellent personal service from the staff. It's rare to find young people with such good manners. Obviously, well trained and treated with respect.
Bath facilities and bedding are also top of the line. There was even a built-in USB charging port for my cell phone. (my charger broke in transit) and an iPod doc for music.
Not a budget price hotel - but if you have more money than time, these people will take care of you!

Room Tip: The beds are large, so a 2-bed room doesn't have a lot of extra space. Get a single, king bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It's a Marriott...so it's very nice. The staff is outstanding. The rooms are a little small. Our room did not have a fridge or microwave. Nice bathroom and toiletries though. It's very pricey, but to be expected...it's a JW Marriott. We stayed here due to a cheer leading competition.

The hotel is connected by walkway/skywalk to the convention center and mall. It's very convenient, but very busy when there's a convention. There's a sitting area & fitness area on the second floor. There's also a small swimming pool. Free Wifi is available in the common areas.

The Starbucks on the second floor, as usual, was awesome and so was the High Velocity Restaurant. There was an Italian restaurant and bar on the main floor. The hotel served complimentary hot chocolate in the lobby during the afternoon.

The staff is excellent! It's a fabulous hotel! Very nice...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We do have a limited number of microwaves and refrigerators on hand. If you would like one during your visit, please let us know and we'll do our best to accommodate your request. Again, it was our pleasure to have you with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is now THE place to stay in downtown Indianapolis. The staff are caring, attentive and helpful and seriously want to make your stay with them a pleasant experience for you. I was there with a large convention group so we got a good rate, otherwise, it is rather expensive. The rooms are attractive and very clean. The view of downtown is excellent. I ate in the hotel three times and all meals were excellent and surprisingly a good value. I highly recommend the pizza and the Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. We enjoyed having you with us, and hope you will be able to return to our facility. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff at the Indianapolis JW Marriott are all outstanding! The service here is impeccable, equal to any world-class hotel where I have stayed. From the valet parking, to check-in, it was seamless and hassle-free. I was made to feel truly welcomed. When I complained that I did not receive the room I had requested, the Concierge comped my wireless internet and the valet parking-that's $50.00 off! Unfortunately, the room itself was a disappointment. I have stayed at Best Western hotels for a third of the price that had nicer rooms! For some reason, they put me in an "Accessible" room, which means I had a shower that could accommodate for or five wheelchairs, but the shower curtain was "bowed" and water ran all over the bathroom floor! When I checked out the next day, the foyer was wet from where the shower overflowed! The television worked intermittently, and the automatic check-out featured did not work at all. Although the view of the city is magnificent, and the service is excellent, the overall experience was not what I had hoped it would be.

Room Tip: West side rooms overlook White River State Park and Victory Field; Upper floors on the East side hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent post. I appreciate your many kind comments. I'm sorry we had to utilize all of our rooms (including accessible rooms) due to being sold-out. I will remind our team to review this with our guests to confirm the room will be acceptable. It is my hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence in our facility. Again it was a pleasure having you with us. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Address: 10 South West Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.