We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply divine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Indianapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Indianapolis to your Saves list
JW Marriott Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South West Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simply divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is simply the best hotel I have ever been to. The service is impeccable. When we arrived the first time the front desk asked if we had been there before we said no, and he walked us to the elevators. I requested a high floor and what I got was simply perfect. From the room on the 22nd floor we had a gorgeous view of downtown Indy including the Lucas oil stadium. From the floor near the elevator we had a great view of the canal and white river statepark. I really did not expect this hotel to be as grand as the Conrad Chicago but far surpasses any of my expectations. Even my small request were met with promptness. I had requested a plastic fork and also a cell phone charger (25 deposit). What was also really accomadating is on our next arrival I requested the same room for the amazing views and it was granted.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    224
    79
    20
    14
See reviews for
142
205
30
564
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Attended a conference hosted in the hotel and stayed 4 nights in conjunction. Rooms have a great view, comfortable with all amenities needed. Quick elevators, convenient to get to/from rooms, meeting rooms, and lobby/businesses. Great variety of lobby restaurant choices. Excellent downtown location, can walk to anything needed, including minor league ball park across the street (or watch the game through the conference area windows!). Take the IndyGo green shuttle from airport for only $7. No problems with housekeeping service, front desk staff and concierge very friendly. Organizing meeting rooms was not as smooth as desired. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Great city views from higher floors, fast elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the JW last weekend. Celebrated our anniversary and saw a Colts game. The hotel's location is one of the best in the city. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the staff were all helpful and friendly. The cost wad also extremely good. We will most definitely stay again. Overall an excellent hotel with a super breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here as a last family summer outing before our son went back to school. We loved the hotel, the hospitality is unmatched. Everyone was friendly and helpful, they almost answered your question before you asked it! We will most definitely stay here the next time we visit Indy!! The room views were incredible, the beds were comfortable & the room had pretty much every ammenity you could want. Plus there was no annoying window air conditioner to deal with. The Children's Museum and the Indianapolis Zoo are very close, the zoo is close enough to walk to. Victory Field is right next door & depending on which side of the hotel you're on you could watch a game from your room.

Room Tip: if you get a chance ask for a corner room, the have 2 walls that are floor to ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel opened earlier this year, Valet and Check in were great, room was very nice and clean, stayed on 28th floor, couldn't find the ice machine on that floor but it was a great view, we stayed as part of attending a COLTS REDSKINS game, after the game we returned to High Velocity, they had plenty of staff as evidenced by most of them leaning around the bar and not taking care of the customers, we sat in the booth right by the bar where the entire wait staff would hang out. The service was terrible as would be expected with a property that just opened (but they have been open a while), they also did not provide the food that we ordered, but when it was brought to their attention they fixed it and removed it from our bill.

Then on the way back to the room, they have a small gift shop with snacks, i grabbed 2 waters, a diet moutain dew and combos. They don't have a gift shop clerk, you had to take it to the front desk. After 5 minutes of waiting in line and watching the employees stand around (even managers) i put the items back and went to the room.

i'll go back and give them one more chance, but if they don''t change, come superbowl that place will be a nightmare.

i'm not going to give them a terrible rating just because of the respect i have for Marriott, but i will give them a poor rating for this performance.

Please get it together, it is a really nice property and i would like to come back.

a note to the staff...... if you have time to lean you have time to be seen, by your customers who would like to be served..... if you're not doing anything, help a customer or get someone who can help your customer! At a JW Marriott i expect to be served, i don't expect to ask someone to take care of me, i can do that down the street at the holiday inn express!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel earlier this month. I am sorry we let you down in our service in our sports bar and at the front desk market area. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to write and want you to know I have followed up with our team.

I'm pleased to hear you plan to give us another try in the future. Please give me a call when you plan to return.

Regards,

Scott Blalock
General Manager
317-860-5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

JW is awesome!! Service from check in til check out was great! Front desk was so nice and very informative. Our room was comfy and clean - we had a great view of the city! Concierge was great in recommending and making reservatuions for us at a local restaurant and a comedy club. Hotel food and service was again - great!!! We would definatly recommend this hotel for any occassion! So much to do with walking distance!!! We hope to be beack next time in INDY.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

First off, this hotel is clean and safe. That is what I always check for first when booking a hotel. The location is great, pretty much right downtown. We had a wedding to attend at the Indiana State Musuem so this hotel was perfect for that.
The outside of the hotel and the lobby are both lovely. The rooms are very modern and nice (although nothing overly spectacular).
My only real complaint is that I requested a King bed in March, our stay was the end of July, and we didnt get the bed. Not a huge deal, but it was important to me and I had requested it so far in advance that I was really disappointed that they couldn't give us the bed we had asked for.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Address: 10 South West Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.