We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Lining” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Indianapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Indianapolis to your Saves list
JW Marriott Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 South West Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tiffin, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Silver Lining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

A conference rate and a satisfactory room but too many clouds! Ridiculously expensive add-ons for Internet (12.95), parking (27.00), and breakfast (20.00+) made me feel cheated and colleagues from abroad just plainly surprised that a quality hotel would be so money grubbing. The staff were cheerful and very helpful and considerate, but frankly a $200 a night hotel should avoid excessive add-on overcharging. Quality hotels in today's world need to be up front with charges.

Room Tip: Prefer the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
First and foremost, thank you for staying with us during your recent conference in Indianapolis. The value you perceive during your visit is a large part of the guest experience. We have noted your concerns with the Internet, parking and meal costs. We regularly review all of our price points and adjust as necessary in an effort to offer competitive pricing while simultaneously providing the best hotel experience possible. We do our best to create value and thrive on constructive feedback such as yours to deliver on that proposition. Again, thank you for your business and thank you for sharing your concerns. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    226
    79
    20
    15
See reviews for
143
207
30
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed at the J.W. Marriott in Indianapolis for three nights during a national conference. Was one of the best hotel stays of my life. Rooms are clean and new, well designed and decorated, and the conference facilities are fantastic. Absolute best of all is the staff. This hotel has done some outstanding work in training its staff to be friendly, attentive and helpful to guests. You could not pass a staff member without being greeted with a friendly smile and hello, and often with an offer to help with anything needed. Truly remarkable level of customer service.

My only criticism is that during my staff something was amiss with the ventilation system in the parking garage. The dryers from the laundry were venting directly into the parking garage and when we left after three days our car was covered with a blanket of dryer lent. It was stinky and gross, not at all consistent with the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
We appreciate your kind words on the great experience you had in our hotel. We also appreciate your feedback on the parking garage ventilation, and apologize for the problem you experienced. We are investigating solutions as we speak. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for three nights while in town for the Pokemon National Tournament at the Convention Center. This hotel is brand new and couldn't have a better location!! It is connected to the Convention Center via a skywalk and is within a short walk to so many restaurants, hotels, museums and attractions. In fact, outside of our visits to the Children's Museum and the Indianapolis Speedway, we were within walking distance to everything!! Everyone we encountered at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. Since the hotel is so new, everything is so clean and modern! Our room was great and had a wonderful view! All our special requests were nicely met. The pool and jacuzzi were nice, though maybe a little on the small side considering how large the hotel is. They were quited crowded when we used them! A gentleman checked on the water temperature of the jacuzzi each time we were there so that impressed me that they clearly take good care of these things! We ordered room service twice, and each time they made several mistakes (including with the bill) but they corrected these things right away. The food was fine, not great, but I always appreciate a hotel that has room service 24 hours a day! They have two restaurants in the hotel (a sports bar and an Italian restaurant), and the room service comes from these places. The hotel was incredibly crowded when we were there, and at times our hallway was so incredibly loud!! However, it was mostly just happy people attending a convention at the hotel and I didn't want to complain because even all the guests at this hotel were so incredibly friendly!! Overall, I was extremely happy with this hotel and I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here during a weekend where a big conference was just ending. The hotel and Indianapolis were overrun with people. However, the staff at the hotel still helped us to feel welcome and provided for our needs with a warm welcome upon check-in to suggestions as to where I might find a chocolate chip cookie after midnight.

The room was clean and the shower was great. There are two spray heads located about 2 feet lower from the shower head to envelop you in water.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I had the good fortune of staying here the week immediately following their grand opening. I had been on a pretty long run, 4 consecutive weeks on the road, and was feeling it. Something about this place just lifted my spirits shortly after check-in and I've only found it to continue to impress the more times I've stayed (4x times since). The rooms are great, well appointed and modern. What I really like is the lounge, which I understand is the top one in the entire JW system. Jen and Natalie are excellent hosts and very pleasant and actually knowledgeable travelers themselves. The location isnt right in the middle of downtown but close enough. Have an upscale restaurant, a nice elegant bar and a sports bar & grill all in the lobby as well. Everything one needs. This is my favorite hotel in the Midwest and the only one I stay in now in Indy (So long Westin!).

Room Tip: High floors are nice but not fun when the fire alarm goes off... believe me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have stayed at many hotels in Indianapolis as well as other locations and the JW Marriott here in Indy is probably my favorite hotel. Every staff member I have encountered on numerous stays has been friendly and knowledgeable. The check in and out process is smooth and efficient.

Rooms are modern with attractive decor, all of the rooms I have stayed in have a comfortable lounge chair, desk chair and plenty of outlets. Next to the bed there are reading lights. The king sized rooms have shower only while the rooms with two beds have a large shower with glass door. If you like watching videos you have ordered online you can plug your PC into the HDTV and view it on the TV, love that!

The concierge lounge is available to Marriott Gold & Platinum members, they serve a really great variety of hors d'oeuvres and have an honor bar with an excellent selection of beer, wine and liquor. Soft drinks, bottled water, sparkling water etc. are available all day. The breakfast is simply outstanding, the best I've had in any concierge lounge anywhere. The staff in the lounge is top notch, they will make an effort to get to know you and take care of your needs.

The hotel has two dining options, three during warm weather months as they open a restaurant on the back patio. All have good food and are not ridiculously overpriced as in many hotel restaurants. Room service is also delicious.

Housekeeping at the JW Indy is exceptional, not only do they make the bed and replace toiletries but all your shoes will be lined up if you leave any out, bathroom toiletries will be left arranged, it's just a nice job. Please tip them accordingly.

Valet service is uneven, although it has improved recently. The staff is very courteous but you should call down from your room 5 minutes or so before you need your car during busy times. If there is a big convention or event perhaps longer.

The hotel fitness center is really great if you like to keep in shape while traveling. Great selection of machines, free weights, cardio etc. and the view is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Arriving downtown Indianapolis after long drive, all we wanted was good meal, comfortable and quite room...and a bit of a humdrum. Pulling into the JW Marriott was anything but quiet--there was a huge national fraternity convention there--thousands of folks milling about...out first thought was, 'we are really screw.....d" The Lobby was so loud that we had to shout our names to the registration desk...that is after we had worked with the outside valets and such to get our bags out of the car.... we finally got registered...went to room...bags got there with seconds... Room was refreshing, bright, and tasteful. We loved it. We only hoped that it would be soundproof--because Saturday night--convention night--was not going to be a silence night... So, we did the chin up..and head back down to the restaurant.. where we were told there would be a 15 minute wait...we were escorted to the "Tavern on the Plaza--had a pleasant drink--and then the folks from Osteria Pronto came to get us for dinner.... After dinner--headed back to room...and collapsed... did not hear another thing until late inthe morning....check out went okay, given the thousands of folks doing the same thing at the same time.... but the Staff and JW handled it professionally.

All in all...a good evening...and comfortable night... would recommend this over anything that claims to be a 'motel" along the highway...

ON downside: big hotel..charges for internet...and parking....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Address: 10 South West Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.