We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Patachou

Cafe Patachou
225 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)
317.632.0765
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 2,023 Restaurants in Indianapolis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Covington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have only eaten breakfast at Cafe Patachou downtown Indy, but each time we visit Indy we make sure we don't miss the opportunity to eat our way through the menu. They don't skimp on the stuffings in their omelettes. We had the Julia which was smoking goose jowl bacon and swiss - holy smoke it was good. Their broken yolk sandwiches are a must. Their toast is Texas sized, made locally and you can order sourdough, whole wheat or cinnamon. If you don't order your bacon crispy, it will be on the limp side. Their granola is homemade and toasted (some of the best) and you can buy a bag to take with you (be sure to read the label it's very entertaining). If you visit downtown, this is a "must do".

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    44
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in the Midwest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I asked the concierge at the hotel for a good breakfast and she said that Patachou was the best breakfast in the Midwest. Guess what...I think she was right! This place is incredible. They are known for their omelettes and their broken yoke sandwiches. I had a sandwich and it was incredible. The restaurant is located across the street from the Capitol building so after you eat, you can walk through this beautiful building. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, in
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been dining here for 7-8 years for brunch. We find the staff to be always friendly, fast, and knowledgeable about the menu. The coffee is always excellent, along with the food. Great cinnamon toast.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was right next door to our hotel and was recommended to us by the hotel. We had to wait 35 minutes but food was delicious - I ordered the "Hippie" something omelet which was great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The breakfast at this establishment is very good! I would recommend anything on the menu. The service is great as well!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Patachou also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Patachou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Patachou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.