We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast in the Midwest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Patachou

Cafe Patachou
225 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)
317.632.0765
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,921 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Phoenix
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in the Midwest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I asked the concierge at the hotel for a good breakfast and she said that Patachou was the best breakfast in the Midwest. Guess what...I think she was right! This place is incredible. They are known for their omelettes and their broken yoke sandwiches. I had a sandwich and it was incredible. The restaurant is located across the street from the Capitol building so after you eat, you can walk through this beautiful building. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    50
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, in
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been dining here for 7-8 years for brunch. We find the staff to be always friendly, fast, and knowledgeable about the menu. The coffee is always excellent, along with the food. Great cinnamon toast.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was right next door to our hotel and was recommended to us by the hotel. We had to wait 35 minutes but food was delicious - I ordered the "Hippie" something omelet which was great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The breakfast at this establishment is very good! I would recommend anything on the menu. The service is great as well!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Slow service, mediocre food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We expected a wait and were told 25 minutes - an hour later we were seated. Our server was slow and inattentive, probably the worst service we have had in the last 10 years - and we dine out frequently. We were seated underneath a ceiling vent, and each time the air came on, dust bunnies (not just particles, but actual chunks) fell on the table and food and there was food on the floor that the server kept walking by and didn't pick up. The food was mediocre at best (waffle was bland, runny-egg sandwich with sausage OK, California omelet the best of all - but nothing outstanding). I've heard so many great things about this restaurant, but experienced none of them. Time we checked in until we left - almost 2.5 hours.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Patachou also viewed

 
 

Been to Cafe Patachou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Patachou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.