We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ordered wrong...perhaps...?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zest! Exciting Food Creations

Zest! Exciting Food Creations
1134 East 54th Street, 8326 E 56th St, Indianapolis, IN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 1,990 restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: This place was great! Right near the Monon trail in Indianapolis. Dogs are allowed to sit outside on the patio while you eat! They brought water for our dogs (with ice in it) in a dog bowl with our drink order. Extremely friendly wait staff, great art inside, wonderful food! Breakfast was delicious my girlfriend had crem brulee french toast...wow amazing! I had a salad that was to die for! I hope you are able to add this great find in Indy/Broad Ripple!
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We ordered wrong...perhaps...?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The place is awesomely inviting :) Playful yet sophisticated decor. Local artists riddle the walls with pictures, paintings, etc to sell :) We were very excited for the tasting adventure ahead of us...and think we may just have ordered wrong because it just wasn't all that great :(
We ordered the Double Sausage Biscuits and gravy which was very good! The biscuit was delectably fresh and the gravy was refreshingly fluid (not too thick) with an abundance of sausage but no heat...? :(
The menu said a special blend of Zest spices which I assumed would be spicy....so though delicious I didn't get any extra special spice. We also ordered the Meatloaf and World Famous Mac and Cheese. Again good! But nothing really special. :(. The Mac had a cheese sauce which may have been homemade...I am just a HUGE fan of melted cheese that keeps the consistency of delicious cheese verses being turned into a flavored down sauce. The crumble on top was a great feature! The meatloaf didn't have any gravy of any sort which was really missed by me! :(. My husband loved it!! We forgot about the tomato Bon Bons which are supposed to be amazing and there were certainly MANY more flavorfully listed menu items which brings to ask myself if we ordered wrong!? The intrigue of the Creme Brule French toast for one has us eager to return when we are in town again :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    47
    15
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“We were happy with everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Not for the "tennis skirt crowd???" If you want "tennis skirt crowd"...stay up north. This is BROAD RIPPLE!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Incredible food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Repeat customer - I have been to Zest several times and the food is always good. I recommend that you make reservations since there is usually a waiting list. They have a nice bar area to wait for tables. Everyone that I have taken to Zest has been very satisified.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Zest is the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Kitschy and cool is the vibe of Zest. A new lounge has been added which makes this a destination not only for creative and superb food but beautiful crafted drinks! My wife and I sampled and old fashion, a dark and stormy and a SoBro Long island ice tea. The drinks are truly a mixologist dream. Even the garnishes are artistic. Food is fresh and home made. The burger blt was yummy. And my wife's macaroni stuffed chili relleno was inspirational. Great value. Great food. Great drinks. Zest us the Best!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, great food and great drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My girlfriends and I dined at Zest on a Saturday night. We were a group of 7, and our waiter, Don, was full of energy and patience for us. He really enhanced our experience. In fact, everyone in the restaurant seemed to be having a good time!

We shared several appetizers, entrees, and desserts. The best were the queso fundido, the parmesean pomme frites, the braised beef short rib, and the cherry pie. I had the power table cocktail which I would highly recommend. Be sure to check out the cocktail lounge, Twist, next door too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest! Exciting Food Creations also viewed

 

Been to Zest! Exciting Food Creations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zest! Exciting Food Creations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.