We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday afternoon walk for all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Canal

Central Canal
337 W. 11th Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202 (Downtown Indianapolis)
317-955-2389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 59 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Sunday afternoon walk for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place was amazing. We were there before the trees and flowers had bloomed and it was still beautiful. So many people were out enjoying the warm temperatures: strolling, biking and kayaking. A lot of historical spots along the walkway including a dedication to 911. Would love to have a condo and live here year round.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    92
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very romantic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited this place on a bright day. Temperatures were not bad luckily and we could walk around the canals. It reminded me of all romantic European places I've been watching in chick flicks (I've not visited Europe). It's also good for joggers or families with young kids (in stroller).
Loved it!!
As it was weekend, we could find parking easily.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great walk near downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The canal is very well maintained and probably the best place to walk in the whole city. You can also ride your bike or run along it with many of the other people who are out enjoying it. Great views of downtown and many fountains to enjoy. Extends to the river where you can enjoy a lookout there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
692 reviews 692 reviews
487 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“love it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is amazing to walk and relax while having the best look avaliable, looking at the city skyscraper. Advised bring comfortable shoes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great idea to build a canal adjacent to the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Who would have thought that you build a canal and walking path in a city where you would not expect it? What a great idea - it gets you to other things to see (right near the NCAA hq) and then takes you through a number of other areas.

Along the way are apartments, museums, restaurants, and other historical sights

We really enjoyed the walk along the canal

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Canal also viewed

 

Been to Central Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.