We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Canal

Central Canal
337 W. 11th Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202 (Downtown Indianapolis)
317-955-2389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 195 things to do in Indianapolis
Attraction details
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
706 reviews 706 reviews
487 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“love it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is amazing to walk and relax while having the best look avaliable, looking at the city skyscraper. Advised bring comfortable shoes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    99
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great idea to build a canal adjacent to the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Who would have thought that you build a canal and walking path in a city where you would not expect it? What a great idea - it gets you to other things to see (right near the NCAA hq) and then takes you through a number of other areas.

Along the way are apartments, museums, restaurants, and other historical sights

We really enjoyed the walk along the canal

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great downtown walk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This walk is in downtown indianapolis. At the southern end is the NCAA Hall of Champions, Indiana State Museum and the Eiteljorg Museum. It pass a memorial to all Congressional Medal of Honor Recipients and lead north to the USS Indianapolis Memorial. The walk passes the Indiana History Center which has excellent exhibit of Hoosier history.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we walked the canal in the evening, it is SO BEAUTIFUL and romantic. want to go back when it's warm to take a longer walk

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Feather In Indianapolis's Cap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Two days after the post-Christmas blizzard my family and I strolled the entire length, and back, on the banks of this canal. The walks had already been plowed and even on a chilly day people were out and about, jogging, strolling, and taking cigarette breaks from their adjacent offices. Even in urban Indianapolis we saw what looked like a fox duck into some snow-covered evergreen bushes. We waited for it to emerge, but we were probably too close and too loud. The various bridges and paths lead off to other parts of town, or to nearby offices or residential areas, and also the Indiana State Museum. At the Museum there are two bronze castings of mammoths, with trunks and tusks that seem to have invited the little ones to climb aboard. Only after one of them (child, not mammoth) knocked the snow off of a sign on the ground, did we learn that we were not supposed to climb on the mammoths. Oh well. Sorry.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Canal also viewed

 

Been to Central Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.