We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent repeat performance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #50 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent repeat performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for the first time last year for The Work Truck Show, then stayed here again for the same show a couple of weeks ago. I am glad to see my first excellent experience was not a fluke. 5 stars again! Love this place and, as before, the staff have a huge input on my rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    56
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
24
13
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent stay - very quiet, comfortable, everything you expect from a Marriott. Connects directly to the Convention Center. Only trouble I had was in not getting a requested wake-up call (I wonder about the room that got it instead!). Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Look for AAA specials and the like to bring down price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is my favorite Courtyard, and I stay at a lot of courtyards. I generally stay away from downtown hotel locations because of the price and the inconvenient parking situation, but this property seems to address both issues quite well. The parking situation is perhaps the best Ive seen in a downtown setting. Lots of good lighting and its setup in a convenient manner. The price is a little high compared to the suburb locations, but compared to the other downtown locations, I think its pretty reasonable. The property is connected to several other Marriott properties so there are several on-site options for meals. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern. Great place to relax after a day on the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had a good experience in the hotel, it was clean nice breakfast included with the package I purchased, people that worked there were polite as well. The only thing that I did not appreciate was that I bought a package that included various activities - to the imax theater, zoo, the NCAA etc. When we arrived they came up with the excuse that the tickets did not arrive but that they would give me a 25$ gift card. This changed my whole trip! There is not much to do in Indianapolis - with this we did not know what to do for the weekend stay but walk around. I should also mention that I had made these reservations about 2 - 3 weeks in advance.
Other than that I was happy with the hotel. It is a bit far from everything downtown but it is nice because you are able to use the skywalk which almost takes you downtown - and if it's cold, you wont have to suffer much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The great thing about this Courtyard is that you can walk to much of downtown Indianapolis indoors, and one of the first things you pass on your way is the Starbuck's inside the JW Marriott. You may get a little wistful seeing the plush JW, but you'll feel better when you realize how much money you are saving by not staying there.

But you still have access to a lot of the amenities.

The parking charge is a little outrageous. They make the self-park ($23) so close to the valet ($27) that there is practically no savings if you decide to schlep everything on your own.

The room service is the TGI Friday's next door. That's great if you like that, but it's not the usual quality of Marriott room service.

That said, this hotel is clean and quiet, and looks like it's been recently refurbished. If you like to walk, then you can hit many nice spots in the city on foot during the winter due to the indoor sidewalk system. If you play your cards right, you won't even need to rent a car in Indianapolis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Ms. Angela Buran
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

While attending a major conference in downtown Indianapolis, we were among a group of nearly 100 who were "assigned" to the Courtyard by Marriott venue due to a conference "overflow" situation at a larger nearby hotel. The hotel staff was helpful and appeared to really care about our well-being and satisfaction. The property is relatively new, so rooms and public areas were fresh and clean. The 3 elevators provided little wait time. While convenient on site-parking was available (self-parking $23/day and valet parking $27/day), just 1500 feet around the corner was an outdoor public self-parking lot for $10 (24 hours). A nice variety of lite food options and Starbucks coffee were available at The Bistro, and free coffee and hot tea were also available at designated times in the adjacent lobby. Although we didn't use the pool, we observed it was small, so this hotel might be a disappointment if planning for a large family-type gathering. We especially appreciated the hotel's direct accessibility to Indy's downtown Skywalk providing a 10-minute weather-protected walk to the Circle Center Mall that offers numerous shops and dining options. We enjoyed our stay and would consider this location again when exploring hotel options for future visits to Indianapolis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown for two nights for college visits.

The building is very convenient to downtown Indianapolis. NFL Combines were taking place at Lucas Oil Stadium, just a block or so away, and many of the NFL people stayed here as well as at the attached JW Marriott.

I didn't request any kind of high floor or view, so we got neither; view was of a wall. Oh well, my bad. The room was clean and the bathrom was a nice size.

Getting in and out can be a little confusing due to one way streets, but once we had done it a couple of times we got used to it. I really feel the parking should be free, at least for Marriott Elite members. There seemed to be plenty of parking. I'm sure it can fill up on game days, etc., so charge the folks who aren't staying overnight.

We dined at the attached JW Marriott, at Osteria Pronto. Excellent northern Italian and a vibrant scene!!! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Ms. Angela Buran
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#50 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown is adjacent to the Convention Center. Centrally located in the heart of this walkable city, this hotel is close to Circle Center Mall, next to White River State Park, the Indianapolis Zoo, and Eiteljorg Museum. Also nearby are the State Capitol, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. This hotel boasts oversized guest rooms and suites outfitted with luxury bedding and plush mattresses, an indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.