We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doors open later than advertised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre

The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre
502 North New Jersey Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)
(317) 231-0000
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 59 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Architectural Buildings, Concerts, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A building of Moorish design.
rensselaer, IN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Doors open later than advertised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Website states that the doors open two hours before event starts. We arrived at 5:15pm for a 7:30pm show and were not let in until 7:00pm. The weather was in the teens and as it was general admission for the entire show, no one was adequately dressed. Not cool. I will travel elsewhere for a show and avoid this venue in the future. Change your website or follow your advertised policies.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    10
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“In need of TLC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

They have some really great shows here. Theatre itself needs adequate lighting, fresh paint, carpet cleaning, comfortable seats, and adequate restroom facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Go for the show, not the venue! Compact seats.. good stage views..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Saw "Wicked" in Murat. We were 1/2 hr early ( it was a weekday) and there were several street parking spots available a block from Murat. However we were ill prepared with change for the parking meter, and paid cash to park in an 'event parking spot' nearby. We were in P row seats- so clear views, though the whole theater appeared compact that views should be be good from most seats. I had a friend in the balcony who said she could see the performance without it appearing too distant. The seats are compact. So think twice before getting in or out of seat if you do not have the aisle seat. Tall people will have difficulty with their knees knocking the front seat. If so, the aisle seat is the way to go. There is a long line for the restrooms during the intermission. However, there were ushers inside and outside the restrooms moving the crowd along, letting them know when the show will resume and which restrooms were free. So the line moves fast. Good work on that. Drinks were costly. Overall, liked the show, venue not so bad!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“GRAND OLD LIVE STAGE THEATER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was back at the Murat Theater for the first time in over 30 years last night for a show. The historic theater is worn but still regal. I sat in the Royalty section and the seats in my row tipped backwards when we stood up which made everyone in row D a little concerned. Maintenance might check this area out before someone is injured.
Other than that, if you want to see a show in a theater built years ago for just that purpose, you might enjoy the Murat Theater in Indianapolis.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always be prepared!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I attended a concert at this venue recently on a Saturday evening . The sound was fantastic. The performance was amazing. I was disappointed in their ladies restroom facilities. Although it is an older building, cleanliness and supplies should not be neglected. The ladies restroom had no toilet paper or paper towels before the show began there is no excuse for being unprepared.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.