We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Marathon Run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iozzo's Garden of Italy

Iozzo's Garden of Italy
946 S. Meridian, Indianapolis, IN 46225
+1 317-974-1100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Iozzo's Garden of Italy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 1,921 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ray Street
Description: Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“After Marathon Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Visited Iozzo's after running the Monumental half-marathon. It's a very good restaurant with some unique menu options. This is the first time I've seen salmon piccata offered. If you've never had it, it's worth trying.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pound, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian family owned restaurant-Best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Not far from downtown Indianapolis is the family owned gem Iozzo Garden of Italy. If you are looking for authentic Italian food, not a chain restaurant, this is the place to come. It is currently owned by the great-granddaughter of the founder. Her sister was our waitress tonight. The brick walls are decorated with family photos. Service was impeccable. I recommend reservations as we were there on a Monday night and the restaurant was full.

We started our meal with bruschetta which was five large pieces of toasted bread with a flavorful tomato topping so five people could share this appetizer. I had the lobster ravioli and my husband ordered the alfredo with chicken and mushrooms added. Both entrees come with your choice of a house salad or soup. The house salad was fresh tasting. My husband said the Italian wedding soup was also very good. The lobster ravioli was to-die-for delicious. The creamy tomato sauce was rich, but not too rich, creamy and swimming in shrimp. When I bit into the lobster ravioli I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. It was that good! In fact, the dish was so good I used a spoon to get every drop of the sauce in the dish. The alfredo had just the right amount of creamy, cheesy, not-overly-rich sauce. The mushrooms added a good flavor. Alfredo is my husband's favorite Italian dish and he said it was the best he'd ever had. We finished the meal with the sea salt brownie to share, a fudgy brownie with sea salt on its surface on a bed of homemade caramel topped with vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce. My husband is not a dessert eater, but he loved it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best dinners we have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Iozzo's topped themselves this week with their Alaskan Salmon, Cod, and Halibut dishes at their special Alaskan dinner. It was fabulous. Chef Kathy is did a great job. And so did all the staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“upscale Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

From the greeting at the door, appetizers that are perfect, the suggested wine pairings, to the fabulous entrees this place is one of the best in town. The selections great. Try the lobster ravioli ! Their desserts are also excellent. You will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Have been here twice and like it very much. Atmosphere is very nice - contemporary but comfortable, warm, inviting; Service attentive without being overbearing; Food was very good - last time here had salmon ($25); ravioli with shrimp ($30); house salad ($5); ceasar salad ($7); a couple of drinks and a desert to share brought the bill to over $100 before tip. So for us a little pricey and not a place to go often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iozzo's Garden of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Iozzo's Garden of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iozzo's Garden of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.