We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Try it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Major Restaurant

Major Restaurant
1150 S Mickley Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46241-2020
317-240-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 2,029 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just Try it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The food delicious. The menu modestly priced. The service quick. Everything about the experince was excellent. Will return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“West side gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is my favorite indianapolis restaurant. The food is always fresh and delicious. The menu is diverse and modestly priced. They have excellent coffee. They roast the beans then bring them to the table for you to enjoy tasting or smelling them. The service is quick and they treat you like family. I have never had service that wasn't excellent here. This place is in an akward location in a neighborhood that looks a bit iffy. Looks can be deceiving though, and I always feel perfectly safe here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing Ethiopian/Eritrean Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Let me start by saying don't let the outside of this restaurant fool you - the food is amazing, and a great value. We went with our two small children (2 and 4) on a Friday night during a trip to Indianapolis. We were offered the (very cool) option of traditional dining style, with the wicker tables, but chose a regular table for an easier time with the kids.
There was a large group that arrived just before us, but the kitchen had no trouble keeping up with everyone's orders. As this was our second time trying Ethiopian food, we kept it pretty simple with the Sambusas (vegetarian & Beef), and the sampler platter with spicy beef, lamb, chicken, boiled egg, 3 types of lentils, pickled cauliflour and salad all served on Injera bread. All amazingingly good! My wife had the honey wine, and I had the St. George Ethiopian Beer (not on the menu, but available). If you like spice, ask and they will also bring you some sauce on the side.
Everything about the meal was excellent, and I left fuller than I can remember being in a very, very long time. When the bill came, I honestly thought they had left the drinks off or something, it was that reasonable. Definitely worth heading away from downtown for. Very close to the airport if you are staying out that way.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I thought eating vegetarian in Indianapolis for a month was going to be difficult but I have found a few "diamonds in the rough" Excellent find. The food and the service was wonderful. Too bad I found it on the last week of my business trip though

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Your Tastebuds Will Dance with Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I love these guys. They come to my place of employment once each week, as a "guest restaurant" in the larger cafeteria (run by catering behemoth Aramark, whose overpriced food sucks hugely). Major's Ethopian/Eritrean cuisine is my guilty pleasure. The food is SOOO good. If you like interesting flavors and spices and want something really different and unusual but not risky, this is the place for you.

And they are really sweet people, too. If you thought the good ol' days of a restaurant being grateful for your business were over, well . . . they aren't, at least not at Major's.

Check it out. I love it and think you will too.

Hope this helps.

.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Major Restaurant also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Major Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Major Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.