We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer-service is excellent and hotel is brand new and emaculate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #50 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Customer-service is excellent and hotel is brand new and emaculate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

My 17 year old daughter and I stayed at the Fairfield this past weekend as we were in town for a cheer competition. We were extremely pleased with our stay. The staff could not have been more kind and accommodating. They always asked how your were and what they could do for you. Ben was of the upmost professionalism. The complimentary business center in the lobby was a nice amenity and the internet was high-speed. The breakfast buffet was extremely well run and was constantly being replenished and the tables wiped to allow more patrons to sit and eat. The selection of breakfast food was very good. Our room was a little small as we only had one bed in the room. However, it was more than adequate for our stay and since it is brand new, everything was so fresh and clean. The color scheme and carpeting colors were very pleasing too. The location to the convention center was just one block away and as soon as the JW Marriott opens up everything will be connected by a skywalk. Even so, the walk to the convention center was very close and we even had lots of snow to contend with! There is a busstop right across the street and the Green Zone bus from the airport stops right across from the Fairfield. This made it very convenient since we didn't have the extra expense of a cab. The TGIF restaurant is connected to the Fairfield and we ate there twice. It was so convenient. Great place to stay and very affordable. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    99
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
40
39
15
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Usually a big Marriott fan, and gold member, but worst experience ever. They must be behind on JW as they did construction all night. Called front desk, since drilling kept me up from 1-4am, and they said sorry but the crew is working during nights. Courtyard, springhill, and fairfield are all connected so avoid until March.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Look, it's a Fairfield Inn and that makes it one of Marriott's lowest end property. I usually only like to stay at Courtyard and above, but I knew this was a newer property so I gave it a chance.

Place is very clean, with a Fridays connected to it. So that was nice. The rooms were tiny but modern with a new 32" flat screen TV. I stayed in a room with two beds, and they were double beds, not queens. I would not want to stay in a room this small with an extra person as it would be crowded.

Not a lot of frills, but clean, new and a good value. There is a Courtyard next store and I would probably elect to stay there next time as I prefer a larger room. I pricelined this room and got is 2.5 stars for $45 a night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed at this hotel a few days while in town for the FFA National Convention. The hotel was a little loud because of so many kids, but you couldn't really hear anything inside the room. The staff at the hotel was incredibly friendly and even waived the cost of my 3 days of parking when the machine had no receipt paper. The free breakfast was pretty good, french toast was delicious. The room was impressive and a great value for the $150 I paid. Very large and well decorated. I think the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in at a hotel (which says a lot, I travel for business 6 days a week.) This is a great place to stay if you are going to something at the convention center. It's about a 5 minute walk from the hotel lobby. The parking garage was well lit and I definitely felt safe walking through it. There's a TGI Fridays in the hotel which is also convenient to eat at. Great stay, I'll absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Wonderful hotel downtown. We walked (15-20 minutes) to Monument Circle. There are LOTS of places to eat w/in walking distance and TGI Friday's is next door (and provides the room service for this hotel). Hotel is new, clean, convenient--a step above my normal "middle of the road" hotel choice. I pre-paid on Priceline and got a reasonable rate ($102 + tax, senior rate). Self-parking is $20 in the attached garage. You have in-and-out privileges from the time you check in until 6:00 pm on the evening of check out. We left the car in the garage most of the time, as we were able to walk to many of the things we wanted to see and that was much easier than trying to find another place to park close to the attractions. The hotel is across the street from the Indiana State Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions Museum and White River State Park (which is where the zoo is).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed there for the Red Bull Moto Grand Prix from 8/26-29. Hotel is new. What else can be said. It is just a 10 minute walk to Monument Circle in the heart of downtown. Staff was very friendly and very accommodating. Rooms are very nice and amenities are ample. Ask for a room with a park view.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed at the new Fairfield Inn in downtown Indianapolis for Drum Corps events at the Lucas Oil Stadium and for other vacation activities. It is in a great location for access to the stadium, convention center, museums, White River Park / Zoo and within a reasonable walk of most other downtown sites.

This hotel has been open for just a few months and still has all the cleanliness of a new hotel. However, I get a clear sense that once the new hotel gleam wears off, there will be some problems:

- Breakfast was underwhelming in terms of selection, service and crowd control. Among other items, the hotel provides microwaveable breakfast sandwiches and do-it-yourself waffles. However, with only one microwave, two waffle makers and no real sense of a line or queue, breakfast was sort of a free-for-all mess.

- There were some design quirks with our room, a king suite. In the bathroom, you couldn't reach the towel rack from the shower. The in-room AC was pretty loud and the room lighting didn't really reach all corners.

- I also found that the value of this hotel was lacking for the price. In Marriott terms, you pay Courtyard-level prices for Fairfield amenities.

- Finally, the underground parking garage worked out fine for this trip. However, I would be greatly concerned about future visits, as the garage looks it services not only the Fairfield but also the attached Courtyard, Springhill Suites and JW Marriott. The JW isn't open yet but will have 900+ rooms. Some of the garage is not yet open, but unless there are vast levels that have yet to be unveiled, there is no way that garage will handle the demands from all four hotels.

Bottom line is that if you get into the Fairfield in the next six months, you will likely have a nice enough stay in a new facility. After that, however, keep an eye out for better values.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#9 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#34 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 501 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#24 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#35 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#49 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis is adjacent to the Convention Center. Centrally located in the heart of this very walkable city, this hotel is close to Circle Center Mall, next to White River State Park, the Indianapolis Zoo, and several world-class museums. Also nearby are the Eiteljorg Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. This property features an on-site TGI Friday's, pillowtop mattresses, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn And Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.