We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean facilty, awful experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #43 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, clean facilty, awful experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I feel compelled to write this on night 1 of a 3 night trip. This has been by far my worst hotel experience ever. The idiots on either side of me have either never stayed at a hotel, have no courtesy for others, or are suffering from some disorder that causes them to be loud for no apparent reason. It is 2 am on a Monday and I have already contacted the front desk about one of my neighbors and it doesn't appear anything has been done. Not to mention you can hear every single car that drives by outside. I am also on the top floor, where you think would be the most quite....wrong. I hate to complain on a form of social media , but this has been a disaster. If a room change is not granted tomorrow then I will be forced to never stay here again. I am a marriott loyalist. I have stayed 27 nights this year and am a credit card holder and this is completely ridiculous. I can't wait to endure a full day of meetings on this disaster of a night's sleep.

The good things about this hotel are: the staff is very friendly and willing to help. There is a nice fitness room and the lobby and rooms are very clean. The valet is almost 30 dollars a night, which seems around par for downtown indy. The beds are pretty decent and the shower was not bad, but the paper thin walls is really driving me crazy. This would get a 5 if it were not 215 am and I was not completely on edge because I can hear every little move the idiots next door make, and for that, I am rating this a 3. Be warned.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSHSIndy, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
I am so sorry the noisy neighbors disrupted your stay. We hope your meetings went well for you. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    81
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
31
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Other Half had a ticket to Indy 500 Race and this was one of the few hotels in the city with available rooms when we came to book. We were so lucky as we liked everything about it. Our room was comfortable and the hotel is close to the race circuit. I spent race day looking around the town-it's a short walk everywhere from the hotel and there is plenty to see and do. The staff were lovely, the complimentary breakfast pretty good considering it cost nothing and coffee was available all day in the lounge. Best of all there are coin operated washer and dryers in the hotel; just brilliant for a couple 19 days into a 28 day trip around the USA-saved us a trip to a laundromat. TGI Fridays is attached to hotel. We ate there every evening as the food and cocktails were so good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family travels to Chicago driving from Asheville NC. Indy is the perfect distance for the "halfway" overnight stay. This hotel is really nice with a very convenient location right off the express-way. It is connected with the J.W. so you know it is a nice property. The rooms are spacious and clean. The amenities are great including the breakfast and usually a fridge in the room.
So, Here is the clincher, when my kids ASK to stay at this hotel when the are travelling to Chicago, you KNOW it is nice. They love the pool and the entire property because they can explore and have a great time. Great value for the money for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is in a great location if you are in town for a football game and want to be able to explore the downtown area. The hotel is part of a large Marriott complex that also includes a Springhill, Courtyard, and JW Marriott. The staff were very professional and helpful while were there.

We were within walking distance to Lucas Oil Stadium, many museums, Mass Ave., and the Circle Centre Mall. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was my second stay here in the past year. We wanted an early check in and the staff worked immediately to get us in a room. When we arrived in the room we found that it did not include a mini fridge, which was necessary for our stay. The staff made new keys for a newly cleaned suite with a fridge, brought the keys to our room right away. Very friendly. The only down side was at 3:45 AM I thought I smelled something burning -- more like a motor burning up than an open fire. It seemed to be coming from the hall, so I called the front desk to report it. The phone rang 25 times without being answered. Obviously, there was no problem with fire because the smell diminished and vanished. I was disappointed to not have staff at the desk, though!

Green Features: One of the few hotels in which I have stayed that actually leaves the used, hanging towels instead of replacing them automatically.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is connected via parking garages and walkways to the JW Marriot, Downtown Marriot, Indianapolis Convention Center and even the Circle Center Mall. Right across the street are museums and White River Park. Th Zoo is within easy walking distant.
Continental breakfast is included but unless you are there first thing the food disappears quickly and is not very quickly replenished. There is a TGI Fridays connected to the hotel.
Room was small but quiet, clean and comfortable. Wi-Fi is included. Shower was great, towels were very thin and not very soft-
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Can rent bikes at White River Park and is a fantastic, FLAT place to ride along the River and even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a super Marriott complex. There is a Springhill, Fairfield, and Courtyard, and JW Marriott all in essentially the same complex. Very nice staff, clean rooms and nice comfortable rooms. The location is within walking distance of many museums, the mall and circle and lots of other downtown restaurants, bars, etc. We stayed for a few nights for a business/ pleasure stay. There is a TGIFridays attached which is pretty convenient as well. If you are looking to stay downtown, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 501 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#55 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis is adjacent to the Convention Center. Centrally located in the heart of this very walkable city, this hotel is close to Circle Center Mall, next to White River State Park, the Indianapolis Zoo, and several world-class museums. Also nearby are the Eiteljorg Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. This property features an on-site TGI Friday's, pillowtop mattresses, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn And Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.