We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #45 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Cheap and close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For those heading to Indianapolis and looking to stay downtown (especially for a convention at a nearby hotel) is a great option. A 10 min walk to the JW Marriott, a in-house TGI Fridays, adjacent to nearby downtown park, the Indiana State Museum, Victory Field, and a close brisk walk to Lucas Oil Stadium.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our location while attending your Convention. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when returning to Indy.

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-636-7678
ben.minnich@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    81
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
31
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Got a good AAA rate ($98.89) for a basic king room. It was clean convenient and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Would stay there again. I was at a conference and this was not the "official hotel" but then I didn't have to deal with the crowds and noise there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post regarding your recent stay with us. We apprciate your kind ratings and remarks on our staff, cleanliness, and location. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting Indy!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-636-7678
ben.minnich@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great location. Easy to take a $5 cab ride into downtown. Walk to lots of great things and made it a long way in the sky walk which was awesome in the snow.

My family of five stayed in a suite with two full beds and a pull-out sofa bed. The sofa bed was VERY uncomfortable. The kids had to take turns sleeping on it - the grown ups were not risking sore backs on it! Room had a microwave and mini fridge which was very convenient. Room was clean and the shower was great!

No pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your kind remarks/ratings on our staff, cleanliness, and hotel. I do apologize for your discomfort regarding the sleeper sofa in your suite. We are looking into this to see if we can change or update the mattress to ensure our guests comfort in the future. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting Dowtown Indy!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-636-7678
ben.minnich@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very clean, modern rooms, good downtown location, adjacent garage, good free breakfast, excellent service! The front desk and bell staff are the friendliest!!!!! The suites have a small living area, but the bedroom is huge.

Room Tip: No pool, no view, but great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while traveling to Indy. Also, thank you for your great feedback on service, the hotel, and location. We appricate your business and hope to see you the next time you are visiting Indy!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-636-7678
ben.minnich@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

First time at this hotel in past 3 years. Room was great, beds very comfortable, location was perfect to convention cener. Perfect to walk around downtown. Would recommend! Rooms were very clean, personnel went above and beyond. connects to skywalk for those cold times. People ae incredibly friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently for a conference and thought the hotel itself was fine, but every single night TGIFridays (located off the lobby of the hotel) played loud music outside. And every single night of my stay I had to contact the front desk, asking them to request the restaurant turn off the music. In the middle of March, and especially in the middle of several hotels, there's no need for that kind of music to be playing so late at night.

It boggles my mind that the Marriott hotels are putting up with it. I may have been the one complaining, but I can tell you that I'm not the only one who was bothered by the music and kept awake. I heard lots of conference-goers saying the same thing.

Room Tip: TGIFridays plays music outside late at night. Either ask for a room on the other side of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide this honest feedback on your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the loud music outside TGI Fridays during your stay. I will review this with their team to make sure they are aware of the consequences to our guests. I will also review with my team so they are aware we can better follow-up with you to make sure you are comfortable after you have taken the effort to make us aware of the situation. Again, I thank you for telling us so we can continually improve on how we perform and ultimately reach our goal of taking the BEST care and providing the most comfortable accommodations for our guests. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Indy!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-636-7678
ben.minnich@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First time in Indianapolis downtown attending a week long conference. We were offered a range of hotels (some 20). Due to availability, chose this small hotel which happened to be the least priced among all. Conveniently located in the Marriott blocks. Very warm welcome, clean and tidy room (twin room, good for 4 Asian-sized people), complimentary (continental, self-serviced) breakfast and complimentary wifi (fair speed to a traveller like me from HK, used to high speed wifi) up to a week, good enough for a short stay. Located adjacent to JW Marriott which can be reached within steps via the parking level, jointed with the Sky Walks (a bridge jointing most buildings around the Indianapolis Conference Centre, including hotels and malls). Will definitely check in again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while traveling to Indy. Also, thank you for your great feedback on the hotel, and location. We appricate your business and hope to see you the next time you are visiting Indy!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-636-7678
ben.minnich@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 501 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#54 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis is adjacent to the Convention Center. Centrally located in the heart of this very walkable city, this hotel is close to Circle Center Mall, next to White River State Park, the Indianapolis Zoo, and several world-class museums. Also nearby are the Eiteljorg Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. This property features an on-site TGI Friday's, pillowtop mattresses, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn And Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.