We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek hotel at a great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
detroit
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sleek hotel at a great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I travel to Indianapolis for business often and this is one of my favorite places to stay. Very clean rooms and good service. Sleek and trendy style. Great view of the river and park. Hotel is by museums and parks. Convenient in and out parking which is not as pricey as other downtown hotels. People have made complaints about parking costs but downtown Indianapolis is expensive. The free breakfast is a bonus which makes this hotel a good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    115
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
99
52
9
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Bear in mind when traveling that you cannot control who ends up in the neighboring room. The hotel was packed the weekend we arrived and we couldn't switch rooms or move to another hotel. I never really thought about "thin walls" - we have never really had an issue with noise levels when we've travelled.

This one building houses both the Springhill Suites and the Courtyard hotels. We found out at checkout that Springhill is their "luxury" side, and the Courtyard is geared towards business travelers (ie. quiet). We were SO UNFORTUNATE to book at the Springhill, and to be given a room next door to really noisy/unconsiderate family. We stayed 2 nights and had to call the front desk both nights to tell them to keep quiet. Once was at 1:30 am and the other night was at 3 am...and they had two little kids, to boot! Horrible - got no sleep...and I had my 4 young children with me.

The desk manager was prompt and very polite - but the walls are seriously lacking any kind of soundproofing - kind of ridiculous if you are gearing the place towards families. I really recommend staying elsewhere if you can. Had I known, I would have paid the extra $$ to stay somewhere that I could have had a decent night's sleep and not have to listen to other people's children scream and whine all night...and into the morning.

That being said, the location is great: across the street from museum, just a few blocks from the mall with theaters. New, so it's completely updated and clean; friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

I loved the lobby and the color scheme throughout and the views. I loved the iPod dock and big desk and many different areas and free internet. It's nice that there's a separate powder room. I just didn't love the frosted glass on the bathing room, since light from it can wake up others in the same room. However, overall the hotel was fantastic -- quiet and pleasant. And it's incredibly close to several museums, just across the street or a block or so away. (Note if you need a quick meal and don't want to go out, there is an informal bistro? in the attached hotel also by Marriott, though I didn't try it.)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Clean, trendy, walking distance to everything and great value for money. Free breakfast is great too. Wasn't too happy having to pay for parking though - we are not used to that in Australia!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Wayne, IN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The hotel is a convenient place to stay if going to a Colt's game. Not as expensive as some of the downtown hotels, but within walking distance to the stadium. Still a little distance to walk to the Circle Center area though.
I'm sure when the construction is complete the hotels will "flow" a little more, but right now it is a little confusing as to where to enter from outside and how to get around.
The room was nice of course with everything being new. A little awkward layout with the TV being in the middle (in a king sized room), so if our child was with us we would've had to be all in the bed or all on the couch, or watch it at an angle. The toilet and shower are in separate bathrooms with a sink in both...we couldn't decide if we liked that or not? The room was bigger than a standard size but don't think with the separate seating area that it is a really large room.
We did not use the pool or fitness center, the pool looked a little small if you would be there on a busy weekend (I think it is shared with the Courtyard)?
The continental breakfast was good, not a restaurant but definintely better than others we have been to.
We were not at the hotel very much and only stayed one night, so we did not use all the amenities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We took a weekend trip to Indianapolis over the weekend of Oct. 29-31 to visit the Titanic Artifact Exhibit at the Indiana State Museum. The hotel was very convienent for this right across the street, and we just walked over which was great. The hotel is in a great location for doing anything at White River State Park.

Other hotel positives:
- Very clean
- Excellent maid service
- Spacious comfortable room (There were only three of us though, but plenty of room for us // more room than in a standard hotel room)
-- TGI Friday's right next door and room service from TGI Fridays available // could also walk to Courtyard resturant // so food options onsite // Courtyard was connected to Springhill Suites and used the same pool.

Not as positive // mostly minor annoyances, but there were enough of these that we'd pick another hotel next time
-- beeps for every floor you pass when going up on the elevator
-- breakfast was a mob scene both mornings -- no tables but we were able to sit on one of the lobby sofas
-- pool was colder than most indoor hotel pools
-- parking in the garage was a real pain // tough to find a spot and it was $20 a day. We did the valet parking to make things easier ($25 per day), but one time we had to wait over 20 minutes for our car. It was another mob scene with tons of people heading for a wedding and waiting for their cars. The turn around area for valet parking is way too small for the amount of activity -- cars coming in and out
-- My husband hated the bathroom design. One room with a toliet and sink and another room with a sink and bath/shower, but you have to go into the main bed area to get from one to another. I actually, though, think some larger families might like the design with two places to be able to change clothes.
-- No towel racks and just one small hook for hanging a towel. That meant hand towels, wash cloths, bath towels all had to go there if someone was taking a shower or on the floor. There were no notes about hanging up towel to reuse them and be more green like we see in most other hotels we stay in, but then there was really no place to hang towels period.
-- No exhaust fan in the bathroom, so mirrors get really fogged up.
-- Beds were fine, but a little firmer than I like.
-- Called front desk for wake up call, but gave up after 20 rings with no answer.

My husband said, "It just doesn't seem like they have their act back together yet."

Really an OK place to stay (not a place to run away from or anything like that) // We, though, for another Indy stay would try another place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Recovery, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

A very nice new hotel by Marriott. The room was very modern but seemed kind of small when traveling with two children. We purchased zoo tickets with our room on Marriott.com which saved us money and we walked to the zoo from the hotel so saved us more money on the $8 parking at the zoo! The hotel is across from a park and the canal district which we loved. We took the kids down there and walked around for awhile very nice kind of forget that your near the downtown of a large city. As far as the valet parking you can self park the parking garage is below the hotel so you don't have to walk very far but pay attention at check-in when they tell you about using the elevators because there is two hotels here and the elevators our color coded one color for the Spring Hill and one for the Courtyard not a big deal you can kind of get turned around cause we made that mistake. Also there is a TGI Fridays on the property so that was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#40 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard  Indianapolis at the Capitol
Courtyard Indianapolis at the C...
#27 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#25 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#37 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown is adjacent to the Convention Center. Located on a beautiful seven-acre site overlooking White River State Park, guests are steps away from Circle Center Mall, the State Capitol, Indianapolis Zoo, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. Guest rooms offer a small refrigerator, microwave, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and cable TV. The property also features a complimentary new breakfast buffet, indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.