We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 AMEX Card Promo
Ranked #33 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Clean, trendy, walking distance to everything and great value for money. Free breakfast is great too. Wasn't too happy having to pay for parking though - we are not used to that in Australia!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    90
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
86
43
8
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ft Wayne, IN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The hotel is a convenient place to stay if going to a Colt's game. Not as expensive as some of the downtown hotels, but within walking distance to the stadium. Still a little distance to walk to the Circle Center area though.
I'm sure when the construction is complete the hotels will "flow" a little more, but right now it is a little confusing as to where to enter from outside and how to get around.
The room was nice of course with everything being new. A little awkward layout with the TV being in the middle (in a king sized room), so if our child was with us we would've had to be all in the bed or all on the couch, or watch it at an angle. The toilet and shower are in separate bathrooms with a sink in both...we couldn't decide if we liked that or not? The room was bigger than a standard size but don't think with the separate seating area that it is a really large room.
We did not use the pool or fitness center, the pool looked a little small if you would be there on a busy weekend (I think it is shared with the Courtyard)?
The continental breakfast was good, not a restaurant but definintely better than others we have been to.
We were not at the hotel very much and only stayed one night, so we did not use all the amenities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We took a weekend trip to Indianapolis over the weekend of Oct. 29-31 to visit the Titanic Artifact Exhibit at the Indiana State Museum. The hotel was very convienent for this right across the street, and we just walked over which was great. The hotel is in a great location for doing anything at White River State Park.

Other hotel positives:
- Very clean
- Excellent maid service
- Spacious comfortable room (There were only three of us though, but plenty of room for us // more room than in a standard hotel room)
-- TGI Friday's right next door and room service from TGI Fridays available // could also walk to Courtyard resturant // so food options onsite // Courtyard was connected to Springhill Suites and used the same pool.

Not as positive // mostly minor annoyances, but there were enough of these that we'd pick another hotel next time
-- beeps for every floor you pass when going up on the elevator
-- breakfast was a mob scene both mornings -- no tables but we were able to sit on one of the lobby sofas
-- pool was colder than most indoor hotel pools
-- parking in the garage was a real pain // tough to find a spot and it was $20 a day. We did the valet parking to make things easier ($25 per day), but one time we had to wait over 20 minutes for our car. It was another mob scene with tons of people heading for a wedding and waiting for their cars. The turn around area for valet parking is way too small for the amount of activity -- cars coming in and out
-- My husband hated the bathroom design. One room with a toliet and sink and another room with a sink and bath/shower, but you have to go into the main bed area to get from one to another. I actually, though, think some larger families might like the design with two places to be able to change clothes.
-- No towel racks and just one small hook for hanging a towel. That meant hand towels, wash cloths, bath towels all had to go there if someone was taking a shower or on the floor. There were no notes about hanging up towel to reuse them and be more green like we see in most other hotels we stay in, but then there was really no place to hang towels period.
-- No exhaust fan in the bathroom, so mirrors get really fogged up.
-- Beds were fine, but a little firmer than I like.
-- Called front desk for wake up call, but gave up after 20 rings with no answer.

My husband said, "It just doesn't seem like they have their act back together yet."

Really an OK place to stay (not a place to run away from or anything like that) // We, though, for another Indy stay would try another place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Recovery, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

A very nice new hotel by Marriott. The room was very modern but seemed kind of small when traveling with two children. We purchased zoo tickets with our room on Marriott.com which saved us money and we walked to the zoo from the hotel so saved us more money on the $8 parking at the zoo! The hotel is across from a park and the canal district which we loved. We took the kids down there and walked around for awhile very nice kind of forget that your near the downtown of a large city. As far as the valet parking you can self park the parking garage is below the hotel so you don't have to walk very far but pay attention at check-in when they tell you about using the elevators because there is two hotels here and the elevators our color coded one color for the Spring Hill and one for the Courtyard not a big deal you can kind of get turned around cause we made that mistake. Also there is a TGI Fridays on the property so that was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massanutten Resort
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I was recently in Indy for a week long conference. We stayed in the Spring Hill Suites by Marriott and this place is new and trendy. The rooms were clean and there were three of us in a room with two queens and a pull out sofa and we still had plenty of room. Our hotel was within one block of the conference. Everything we did was within an easy walking distance from the hotel. We actually sampled 15 different bars while we were there. My favorite bar was probably either Howl at the Moon or the Kilroy's on the corner across the street from Howl at the Moon. This bar had a shuffle board table inside and awesome food. We walked down to the public library and from the sixth floor you can look out on the city. The sixth floor has ceiling to floor glass to look out. Cool library by the way. Just an overall awesome time I had in Indy, did attend the game between the Manning brothers, that was fun as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel is simply wonderful! I will say it was just a bit confusing on where to pull up for the Springhill Stes, only because we could see the Courtyard name so clearly, but not the Springhill name until we pulled in. We had a great laugh about it, because it took going by it twice to see it. Anyway, the Courtyard & Springhill share the same entrance. As soon as we pulled up, we were warmly greeted by the valet guys, and the same type of greeting when we went to the front desk. As far as the hotel, I cannot think of one negative thing to say. The breakfast was enough for us, fruit, eggs, sausage, bagels, yogurt, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, juices, milk, tea, coffee...This hotel complex is right by the Convention Center, Victory Field, Indiana State Museum, & many other attractions. I do believe it is within walking distance of downtown (1 mile to Conseco Fieldhous) but my friend didn't think so much. LOL Anyway, I cannot say enough great things about this hotel & the staff and HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

This hotel is by far one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. We were in town for RibAmerica Festival and it was within walking distance (around 3 blocks) which was very convenient. I was concerned from other reviews that parking was confusing. We didn't find that at all. We pulled right up to the hotel and a valet was there who gave us instructions. Parking was $20.00 if you do it yourself. We chose valet parking as it was only $5.00 more. Saved us the hassle. Check in was wonderful. Friendly and fast and very very helpful. The lobby is spacious and lovely. The rooms are the same. Beautiful and spacious. Decorated in springy colors. We had a sectional sofa in one part of the room with decorative throw pillows and a large flat screen T,.V. The beds were very comfortable and lots of pillows. Room also had refrigerator and microwave. Everything was clean clean clean. Not a speck of dirt. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. I also saw a review that said the fact that the Courtyard, Fairfield, and Springhill are all connected which makes it very confusing. I did not find it confusing at all. Everything is clearly marked where one starts and the other begins. Each has it's outside door so I didn't find it confusing at all. There is also a TGI Fridays connected to the Fairfield part of the building which was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#55 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown is adjacent to the Convention Center. Located on a beautiful seven-acre site overlooking White River State Park, guests are steps away from Circle Center Mall, the State Capitol, Indianapolis Zoo, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. Guest rooms offer a small refrigerator, microwave, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and cable TV. The property also features a complimentary new breakfast buffet, indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.