We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 185 hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Massanutten Resort
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I was recently in Indy for a week long conference. We stayed in the Spring Hill Suites by Marriott and this place is new and trendy. The rooms were clean and there were three of us in a room with two queens and a pull out sofa and we still had plenty of room. Our hotel was within one block of the conference. Everything we did was within an easy walking distance from the hotel. We actually sampled 15 different bars while we were there. My favorite bar was probably either Howl at the Moon or the Kilroy's on the corner across the street from Howl at the Moon. This bar had a shuffle board table inside and awesome food. We walked down to the public library and from the sixth floor you can look out on the city. The sixth floor has ceiling to floor glass to look out. Cool library by the way. Just an overall awesome time I had in Indy, did attend the game between the Manning brothers, that was fun as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    76
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
73
38
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel is simply wonderful! I will say it was just a bit confusing on where to pull up for the Springhill Stes, only because we could see the Courtyard name so clearly, but not the Springhill name until we pulled in. We had a great laugh about it, because it took going by it twice to see it. Anyway, the Courtyard & Springhill share the same entrance. As soon as we pulled up, we were warmly greeted by the valet guys, and the same type of greeting when we went to the front desk. As far as the hotel, I cannot think of one negative thing to say. The breakfast was enough for us, fruit, eggs, sausage, bagels, yogurt, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, juices, milk, tea, coffee...This hotel complex is right by the Convention Center, Victory Field, Indiana State Museum, & many other attractions. I do believe it is within walking distance of downtown (1 mile to Conseco Fieldhous) but my friend didn't think so much. LOL Anyway, I cannot say enough great things about this hotel & the staff and HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

This hotel is by far one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. We were in town for RibAmerica Festival and it was within walking distance (around 3 blocks) which was very convenient. I was concerned from other reviews that parking was confusing. We didn't find that at all. We pulled right up to the hotel and a valet was there who gave us instructions. Parking was $20.00 if you do it yourself. We chose valet parking as it was only $5.00 more. Saved us the hassle. Check in was wonderful. Friendly and fast and very very helpful. The lobby is spacious and lovely. The rooms are the same. Beautiful and spacious. Decorated in springy colors. We had a sectional sofa in one part of the room with decorative throw pillows and a large flat screen T,.V. The beds were very comfortable and lots of pillows. Room also had refrigerator and microwave. Everything was clean clean clean. Not a speck of dirt. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. I also saw a review that said the fact that the Courtyard, Fairfield, and Springhill are all connected which makes it very confusing. I did not find it confusing at all. Everything is clearly marked where one starts and the other begins. Each has it's outside door so I didn't find it confusing at all. There is also a TGI Fridays connected to the Fairfield part of the building which was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MI
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Brought my niece and her two young children to Indy to see the Zoo & Children's Museum. This was a great location for the Zoo and a short walk to the Monument Circle. Everyone was very impressed with Indy and with this hotel. The layout of the room worked out great for us--Everyone seemed to have a "private" place to change, etc. The kids spent a lot of time in the pool and it looked very cleam. Breakfast in the morning was very abundant. I appreciate the key-operated elevator and didn't find it difficult to use at all. In fact, the kids enjoyed activating it with the key. The hotel is located a little off the beaten path, but Indy's downtown is so vibrant, that we felt comfortable walking several blocks at night, as well as walking the canal. We used valet parking and found it quite convenient. We'll stay re again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We visit family in Indy at least once a year. We normally stay at the Residence Inn on the Canal, but last time my kids complained about sharing the sleeper sofa and asked if there was a way they could each have their own bed. We chose the Springhill because it was the only hotel we could find with 2 queen beds + a fold-out couch. Also, it is part of the Marriott family so we got half our stay free with loyalty points.

The unexpected surprise was the stunning view of White River State Park from our 15th floor room. It did remind me of the reflecting pools in DC and was especially gorgeous at dusk and after-dark. Our room and entire hotel had nice furnishings. The beds were comfy, even the fold-out, which was separated from the other beds by an opaque screen.

The bathroom is split with a toilet and sink/mirror on one side of the closet and and shower and sink/mirror on the other side, both with sliding doors. This was very handy with a teen and tween girl.

We expected a continental breakfast and were pleasantly surprised that the there also hot items: eggs, sausage, oatmeal, and make-your own waffle. The breakfast line could be better organized as the waffles created a bottle-neck, but that wasn't a big deal since we weren't in a hurry.

You can easily walk to the canal, State Museum, Etiljorg, NCAA Hall of Champions, Victory Field, canal boat and surrey bike rentals, and even a couple of restaurants.
The cafe at the Etiljorg was very pleasant with indoor and outdoor balcony seating overlooking the canal. Zoo and glass gardens with butterflies are maybe a 5 minute drive.

The work-out room looks out to the small pool, which is handy for keeping an eye on older kids.

Parking is $20 self-park and $25 valet and I didn't see any affordable off-site parking options. While it is steep, it is in line with other Indy hotels downtown. It was a little tricky for family members to find as there are many Marriott properties in the area and it shares a building with the Courtyard. A good landmark is that it is just past the giant red check mark sculpture.

We missed the outdoor balcony and grill at the Residence Inn. My girls said that free cookies (like at Res. Inn) would have "enhanced their hotel experience". However, Springhill did offer free lollipops and free breakfast. Service was fine--no complaints. I admit Residence Inn was friendlier, probably since we have been going there for years and staff actually remember us from visit-to-visit.

At the risk of seeming disloyal to Res. Inn, I think we found a new favorite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, IN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Brand new, nicely decorated hotel situated right across the street from the Indiana State Museum. I liked the fact that there were two bathroom areas – one with a toilet and sink; the other with a vanity sink and tub/shower. Lines for breakfast were long since it is 17 stories and has the same basic set-up as the 3-story Springhill Suites I am used to.

The one problem I had was that upon return to the room at 4:45 our room had still not been cleaned and we had no new towels. We were going to get ready for dinner so I called down to report it. Never once did anyone I talked to (desk, cleaning supervisor) apologize – I just got “We have a full house and the maids work until 6 p.m. You need to understand.” Lots of excuses. I told them that answer was unacceptable and I needed towels right away. The towels did show up and at 5:15 the maid came. I sent her away since we were getting ready. That is poor service and someone needs to teach the staff to at least say “sorry” and diffuse the situation that way and then solve the problem. That night a note was in my room from the manager finally apologizing and giving me 5,000 Marriott Rewards points. Well, at least that was better.

On the whole, I would give them another chance, but they need to hire more cleaning staff. Not having a room cleaned by 5:30 is not acceptable by my standards.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

This hotel is part of a new complex of Marriott properties and includes a (not yet open) JW Marriott, a Courtyard, and a Fairfield Inn in addition to the Spring Hill Suites. The JW is quite an impressive structure and looks like it will be a neat place to stay when it opens.

Our rooms on the 8th and 14th floors of the Spring Hill Suites both faced west, and thus had a great view of the park across the street. The hotel complex is on the far west side of downtown actually so there is really nothing to the west of here BUT the park, which is nice. A river runs through the park is well, and there is lots of nice places to walk. It appeared to be a very safe park to me, and I saw single women jogging, kids with their parents etc.

Washington Street, where the hotel is located, is a nice road to walk on if you're headed east into downtown. It's about a 15-minute walk to the soldier's memorial and the traffic circle. I would say it's a safe walk in the daytime for women, and the route passes by several government buildings, including the state capital.

Though they claim there is a TGI Friday's "on site" it's really next door at the (connected) Fairfield Inn, but requires either a short walk outside, or a longer walk through the parking garage to get to. The food and service were well worth the walk though. Both were excellent. Note that this restaurant is about the ONLY restaurant in the complex right now, though I assume the JW will have one once it opens. The Courtyard Marriott next door had a little "cafe" in the lobby, but I think it was mostly sandwiches and coffee, and not really a sit down place.

The rooms, as others have noted, are a bit strangely laid out, and there is not much room between the beds and the bathrooms/closets in each room. I did notice the handicapped rooms did not have this problem however as they must accommodate wheel chairs.

The non-handicapped rooms would probably be better for a solo traveler and are not laid out the same as other SHS's I've stayed in. I prefer the "older" version, which had a totally separate bedroom with its own door, T.V., and AC controls. The beds were very comfortable however in this one, though some few might find them a bit firm.

One thing I DID like about the rooms here was the extremely nice "work area." The desk was plenty big, plenty of plugs, and plenty of light. The divider window at the back of the desk between it and the "bedroom" could also be opened up if desired so you can look out the window. The chair is situated so you can turn slightly and watch the (one) T.V. while you work if desired.

I would agree with a previous reviewer that most of the rooms here are better situated for one person. Even with just one person however, the space between the bed and the oddly laid out bathrooms (one for showering...one with a toilet...and a closet in between) is still quite scarce.

One other "gripe" is the elevators, or "hellevators" as my brother called them. They require that you insert your room key in order to access any floor but the ground floor. If they are going to insist on this for security purposes, they should make the system more user-friendly as I, and several others, had trouble inserting the key correctly in order to get the elevators to move. Very much a hassle, especially when jet-lagged and arms full of luggage.

The staff at the hotel was excellent however, and "exceeded my expectations" at every turn.

I did not use the gym while there, but it looked better than most smaller hotels, and had some dumbbells for use as well I believe. Next to the gym was a fairly nice indoor pool as well.

They had several computers in the business center and a couple in the lobby for guests to use. The free Internet in the rooms was adequate, but if you wanted "fast" you had to pay $5 per day for that. I did, and it was pretty fast.

All in all a good hotel, but I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I really wanted to be by the park. This is due mostly to the room layout and the elevator difficulties.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#13 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#30 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown is adjacent to the Convention Center. Located on a beautiful seven-acre site overlooking White River State Park, guests are steps away from Circle Center Mall, the State Capitol, Indianapolis Zoo, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. Guest rooms offer a small refrigerator, microwave, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and cable TV. The property also features a complimentary new breakfast buffet, indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.