We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay but Check your Bill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #20 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Stay but Check your Bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at Springhill several times for GenCon (a large convention). Each stay has been pleasant. I recommend the hotel. It is a good value. Being connected to the convention center is convenient. The complimentary breakfast is very good. All staff were very polite and helpful. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The free wireless internet works well. We have always found a parking spot near the elevators. A few caveats so I removed a star... 1) the hotel incorrectly double charged us each day for valet parking ($100+). After checking with the valet the desk staff promptly removed the charge. But with automatic checkout we would have been billed had we not closely reviewed our bill. 2) our group had three room keys and each of them stopped working at different times during our stay. Being stuck on the elevator or getting to the room only to make a trip back to the lobby was annoying. 3) No hot tub 4) I couldn't find a Visit Indy guide book in the hotel lobby or guest rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    81
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
80
41
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was expecting much more based on the positive reviews. The location was good. It was close to the state park and a few other points of interest for us, and it seemed clean. On the other hand, the beds were way too soft and uncomfortable, the bathroom design was annoying with no locks on the doors and lack of privacy due to the gaps in the doors, and calling it a suite was a bit of a stretch. The room really wasn't much bigger than a double queen room. Also, the pool was TINY. My kids tried to swim, but other kids would literally end up jumping in on top of them. The lobby was also very unattractive. We usually stay at Hilton Garden Inns which have a bar and restaurant and lots of comfy furniture in the lobby, but this place didn't have any of that. The breakfast food was awful, and there was no room to even sit at the cheap cafeteria-like tables and chairs in the breakfast area. Lastly, the parking was too expensive. And to make matters worse, when the minor-league baseball team is playing across the street, the parking is taken up by people going to the game. Seems like hotel guests paying a ridiculous price to park should get priority parking over those going to a ballgame. We plan to return to Indianapolis, but we will stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSHSIndy, Manager at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectation and the Springhill design does not meet your needs. We hope you will reconsider the Marriott family the next time you are in Indianapolis. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night, but what a comfortable night it was. There is a refrigerator and microwave in every room. Amen! The staff and accommodations really make you feel at home. Right across the street from the museum and river plus close to restaurants and even a movie theatre.

Room Tip: Double Queen rooms face the park. King rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I first entered the lobby the dirty carpets got my attention. I didn't care for their tacky, modern decor but I could overlook that as a matter of personal preference. The breakfast area was next to the lobby and people spilled over into it to eat. I think the housekeeping staff could see to spills in a timely manner.

Our room was spotless and well care for although there were spill spots on the carpet. They offered another room but its carpet was also soiled. The hallways had little bits and pieces on the floors. Maybe their vacuums don't work.

Breakfast was above average with fresh strawberries and other fruit. Staff kept the buffet well stocked.

The location was ideal but management needs to see to the details.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSHSIndy, Manager at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I will be sharing your feedback with our team and we will be addressing the issues with our housekeeping department. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown was conveniently located near many restaurants, Victory Field- Indianapolis Indians, and Indianapolis International Airport. From there, everything is within walking distance. Also, the rooms are nice and big and they are new. If you are staying with 4 people it fits perfectly. The people in the lobbies were very nice and I really enjoyed staying at Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown.

Room Tip: All rooms are mostly the same, but if you can get a view of the White River, those are god choices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The room size as great and it had everything I needed. The lighting in the room wasn't great , consisting mostly of lamps in the lounge area and their was only a light switch on one side of the bed. The internet was reliable though a bit slower than other hotels I stayed in, but by no means inadequate. The breakfast quality was variable though it the range was large enough to suit everyone's preferences. Bed was comfortable and staff polite and I had no reason for complaint. Location was good for the convention centre though a bit of a walk to downtown. Wouldn't have a problem stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed for nights.
Positives - Comfortable bed, extremely clean room, responded to our needs for extra supplies immediately. Starbucks available in lobby!

Negatives - If you are over 50, the room is very dark - lighting is an issue. Fresh fruit other than bananas at breakfast and a change up in offerings would be nice. If you are tired when you first arrive, wake up enough to figure out which elevator to go to - even though everything is clearly marked the next morning when you are awake enough to see the signs. Haha - the elevators are even painted different colors!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#35 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown is adjacent to the Convention Center. Located on a beautiful seven-acre site overlooking White River State Park, guests are steps away from Circle Center Mall, the State Capitol, Indianapolis Zoo, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. Guest rooms offer a small refrigerator, microwave, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and cable TV. The property also features a complimentary new breakfast buffet, indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.