We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, shame about the breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #41 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great room, shame about the breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for about a week on business (an event at the Indiana convention center). In terms of location, room comfort and staff friendliness I can't fault the hotel - it is connected to the ICC and other hotels via the skywalk and is about 10 minutes walk to the ICC. The room was spacious and had everything you might need or expect, including iron, microwave and fridge plus free wifi which was fast and air con that was easy to figure out. The front desk staff were very friendly and polite. There is also a pool and a gym, although I didn't have time to use either!
I've only knocked off a star because the breakfast was a little bizarre (think neon cereal, powdered egg and 'turkey sausage') a sort of weird fusion of continental and cooked. Although this could easily be avoided by stocking up the room fridge or eating somewhere else - there are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance, the main mall is accessible via the skywalk.Overall I'd definitely recommend this as somewhere central to stay for conventions or sporting events.

Room Tip: Consider getting breakfast elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I agree with you that the room is FANTASTIC!
We offer a variety of items for breakfast to choose from. The selection is based on a rotation schedule that changes daily.

We look forward to Welcoming You Back!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    101
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
92
46
8
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

A $35 taxi ride from airport (without tip) and about a $30 taxi ride back to the airport - without traffic. Hotel room design is a bit awkward. The room has a refrig/microwave for convenience.
If too hot/cold out or raining you can traverse inside over to the mall and its food court and all the way to Monument Circle if you desire. Breakfast has a waffle station on weekends only. A common question is where is the milk: its near the juice machine but look down for it tho (below counter). Coffee is available by front door in mornings, not available in afternoons and availability is sporadic on certain evenings. There is additional sitting for breakfast by the coffee station. TGIF is practically right outside the hotel. White river park is right across the street and don't forget to walk along the canal for a leisurely stroll. Football stadium is a 10-15 minute walk. Baseball park is about a 3 minute walk. Nice play to stay for a convention and you can access the JW Marriott internally. If elevators are slow, room key will work in courtyards elevators since it is the same building. A nice addition would be if they provided a free bottle of water/day for each room since the tap water tastes incredibly bad. Also would be nice if they placed the free newspaper outside each booked room. Unfortunately they only offer a limited amount of free papers at the front desk and run out quickly.

Overall, we had a great multiple day stay. Safe, clean and convenient (also only about 4 years old).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to share your Indy Dwtn Experience.
I agree that there are multiple options to choose from to spend your free time.
Climate Control Walkways connect you to downtown restaurants and shopping.

Looking forward to your return visit!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife. Only complaint is the design of the room. the toilet area is in a separate room from the shower area, so to use the toilet, you go to one small room, then, to take a shower, you go into another room, and the doors on each of these rooms are sliding doors, so there isn't 100% privacy in either of them. Not the best design for "modest" folks. But, I understand, due to the layout, the sliders save some space. Other than that, the room was clean, and modern, with a nice downtown view, a fridge and a small microwave, and a separate couch/tv area.
Location is very good, on the west side of downtown. Basically, right across the street from Victory Field, the Eiteljorg Museum, and not far at all from the convention center and Lucas Oil Stadium. Circle Center mall area is about 4-5 blocks east of hotel, a decent walk for most folks.
Self parking in the adjacent garage was $23/night for us, valet is $28/night, I believe. this hotel is part of the Marriott "complex" with a Fairfield Inn, and a J.W. Marriott, as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Manager at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our location and the hotel amenities. We hope to see you on your next visit to Indy. Thank you for your survey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The location of the hotel was very good. It was near a few of the sites we wanted to see, one of them being the Zoo. The zoo is a little over a half mile away from the hotel and well within walking distance. The parking price seems reasonable, but I didn't compare to anything else in the area. The self parking also allowed for in and out access. There are also laundry facilities for a fee in the hotel should you require them. We did need them as we got caught in a downpour on our first attempt walking to the zoo. The room was very nice, and modern looking. It was a nice place to come back to after a long day sightseeing. There was a breakfast included, but the line tended to get long as it got later in the morning. The room included a microwave, mini fridge, and coffee maker. I will likely be in Indy again, and I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Manager at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our location and the hotel amenities. I hope you do not get caught in the rain on your next visit to Indy. Thank you for your survey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great Hotel. Incredible location, right downtown across from the baseball field. Rooms are very spacious and updated - comfortable beds. Fitness area fantastic. Breakfast was good, but they need to redo the set up to prevent the LONG lines from forming all across the lobby. Also when there is a baseball game it can be difficult to find parking in the structure, You would think they would reserve a few spots for ONLY hotel patrons. They use half of the structure for valet parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Manager at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our location and the hotel amenities. We hope to see you on your next visit to Indy. Thank you for your survey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The location is great in downtown Indy and is connected to the Convention Center, Circle Center Mall & close proximity to Lucas Oil Stadium by an enclosed walkway. It is, however, a somewhat convoluted trip to get to it and the signage could be improved. The hotel itself was very clean, room was bright & convenient and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good but was the usual fare. No long lines early on but there was when I was down there around 9:30. TIGF is located right beside the hotel for an easy, late bite to eat. We got a good rate through hotels.com for the downtown location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Manager at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our location and the hotel amenities. Thank you for your survey and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Awesome location equals a lot of people staying on this property! Rooms were client and roomy which is a plus with traveling with 2 kids. Check in was fast and the guy was friendly and answered all of our questions. However, the next morning, we left the hotel with no breakfast. If you want breakfast, set your alarm clock real early. We went down to get breakfast starting at 9:00 am but the line was out the front door lobby for breakfast. So we went back down at 9:30 and still the same issue. So we went back up and got our luggage to check out and at 9:55 am, the line was still out the front door. I can't blame the hotel cause it was sold out and very very crowded but it was frustrating to have to visit the marketplace in the lobby to get our kids something to eat and had to pay for it. Can't knock the hotel to much for that but maybe they need to create 2 lines or once they see the hotel is sold out, try doing a little room service and bringing breakfast up to rooms. The pool was a joke as well. A very tiny pool with a sign on the wall that says no more than 15 people. Oh and they let the other hotels that is connected to this one to use the pool as well. So kids never got to swim either. Maybe they shouldn't let the sister properities use the pool when this one was sold out. But absolutely loved the room and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Manager at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the hotel location. We are sorry to hear that breakfast and pool were crowed during your visit. We understand that can be frustrating when traveling with children. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you on your next visit to Indy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#27 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#60 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown is adjacent to the Convention Center. Located on a beautiful seven-acre site overlooking White River State Park, guests are steps away from Circle Center Mall, the State Capitol, Indianapolis Zoo, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. Guest rooms offer a small refrigerator, microwave, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and cable TV. The property also features a complimentary new breakfast buffet, indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.