We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Full Suite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a Full Suite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We expected a suite with a seperate bedroom, but it was really a normal hotel room. Squeezing 5 in was a challenge, even though they say 6 can sleep in a room. Also, there were only 3 tiny drawers for clothes.

The breakfast was good. People were helpful. I would stay there again with 4 people, but not with five.

Parking costs $25 a day or so (very expensive for Indy).

The pool and fitness are shared with the courtyard hotel and are small, but have everything.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Corner suites don't have extra windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Ms. Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    115
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
99
52
9
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I love Marriott hotels and a long time credit card rewards holder. I was disappointed for the stay. My wife and I went to Indy for our 8th year wedding anniversary. I used points for the stay and looking forward to a nigh alone from kids. When we arrived for check in the place was filled from floor to ceiling with tweens. Since it was Marriott we expected the place to be clean and staff friendly which they very much were. The bed sheets were not as high quality and the bed was not as good as a Fairfield. Again I think this is a good family hotel but not one for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We really appreciate you being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member. I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Ms. Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on New Years Eve 2012. The room was clean and comfortable for our group.

The staff was friendly and very attentive to us. They had some games down in the lobby that the younger children played and they let the kids celebrate the ball the drop in the lobby as well.

Parking is available on site via valet or self park. Self Park was around $20.00 and valet $30.00. There is a surface lot a half block away at White River State Park for $10 for 24 hours.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends and stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Ms. Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed the Spring Hill Suites. Originally made my reservation for the Courtyard next door, but they offered us a room here at the same rate. I found the contemporary furnishings and modern layout of the room refreshing. Reminded me of the A loft chain of modern hotels. One thing I don't really care for, are these new sliding "barn doors" they use for bathroom doors, but I guess they save on space. The service was very good, particularly from Jerrod, who was working the front desk during our stay. The complementary breakfast was OK, but very similar to the breakfast offerings at most other Marriott hotels in this price range.
One quick tip, save yourself about $20 and park in the White River State Park parking lot across the street on the right, about a 1/2 block from the property. I hate to pay to park anywhere but this is a much cheaper option than the hotel garage. It is well patrolled by the Capitol State Police if you have reservations about parking in a lot.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Ms. Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

While in Indianapolis for the Big 10 Championship, we stayed at this property. Room was very nicely appointed. Beds were comfortable and a nice morning breakfast. All of the employees we encountered during our stay were very friendly and accomodating. The valet staff were super friendly! Was nice to be close to TGIF perfect for a night cap before bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Ms. Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved staying at this modern, fresh hotel while in Indianapolis for the weekend. My partner is someone who is hard to please and very picky (typically won't "settle" for less than a 4-star hotel) but this one was a winner. I had looked at multiple hotels and was planning to stick to my budget--and the SpringHill Suites was the only one that had everything we wanted. The king-size room had a fabulous layout/great use of space, nice views, huge windows, beautiful bathroom, and a luxurious feeling for an affordable price; we loved everything about it. Plus, the hotel is in a great location near the White River State Park, shopping, museums, the canal...which was all on our want-list.

However, because this is such a family-oriented hotel (which makes sense, because of the suites and the room layouts), there were kids everywhere during our stay. Which is not so much a problem in itself, except they were crawling en masse all over the pool, lobby, and running around the halls, even in the evening. Even so, we still thought the room was romantic and loved our stay. So we would return again and recommend it to friends and couples as well as families. (We thought it was smart how the room had a separate shower/sink area and a separate water closet with another sink.)

Also, though the parking can be relatively expensive, during the warm months there are very reasonable low-cost options nearby. Plus, with complementary Wi-Fi and a hot breakfast, this hotel was absolutely a great value. In fact, because we liked it so much, we almost wanted to keep it our secret. :) But I couldn't resist sharing it with everyone else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Ms. Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Downtown hotels charge for parking (This hotel garage is $23, and it's in/out privileges) and if you look at comparable garages nearby price is consistent. If you do not want to pay for parking, stay in the suburbs.

There is complimentary breakfast (good selection and variety) and complimentary coffee/tea during certain hours in the day and night so it offers value. Hotel is relatively new so furnishings are nice. The gym is convenient and there is an indoor pool. There are restaurants in this complex (JW, Fairfield, Marriott Courtyard and Springhill) although the Springhill does not have a restaurant, you can order room service at TGI Friday's. You can walk to other places downtown although it's not as central as some other hotels to the Circle Center Mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, White River State Park is next to hotel but depends on which side of hotel you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Ms. Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#40 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard  Indianapolis at the Capitol
Courtyard Indianapolis at the C...
#27 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 601 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#25 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#37 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown is adjacent to the Convention Center. Located on a beautiful seven-acre site overlooking White River State Park, guests are steps away from Circle Center Mall, the State Capitol, Indianapolis Zoo, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. Guest rooms offer a small refrigerator, microwave, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and cable TV. The property also features a complimentary new breakfast buffet, indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.