We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living Nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dollar Inn - Indianapolis

Dollar Inn - Indianapolis
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Indianapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dollar Inn - Indianapolis
6331 Crawfordsville Road, Indianapolis, IN 46224   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 185 hotels in Indianapolis
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Living Nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This Place Is Terrible everything was good until i had rude awakening. Sometime around 4 in the morning i heard sounds of sexual intercouse. Also my toilet pipe blew and fecal matter was all over half of my room. The manager was nice enough to send a plumber to my room, and we soon found out the problem was there was a dead rat along with a few used condums That was Cloging the toilet. There was bullet holes in my wall, and in the middle of the night a african man threw a cinder block at my window. Walked into my room and asked for his XXX DVD's. I had know idea what he was talkin about??? He then kicked a hole through the wall and pulled out his XXX and then walked out. Police did show up looking for this man, and said we is wanted. I also belive he may have been smoking weed. I will never come within 50 miles of this place ever again. WORST NIGHT OF MY LIFE!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    3
    2
    21
See reviews for
1
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

I stayed there a few times and was given different reasons why the price was higher than the advertised price. (the race, the weekend starts on friday, smoking rooms are cheaper). It was also dirty and smelly on each occassion - NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My fiance and I stayed there for ONE night. We were there not even 2 hours and my fiance was being bitten by bed bugs! We tried to get our money back to leave and go to a clean motel! And we were called liars and refused any type of refund. I would stay clear of this place! Corporate office should close this location down! if not the board of health!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ill
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

we were there yesterday feb 21, 2011 very horrible experience too dirty, and smell, just like someone use already there bedsheet, i want to call the attention of the sanitary government there at indianapolis please check there sanitary permit, this was very horrible to stay there, thats why early in the morning we are rushing to pack up im with our kids and with my husband, i repeat i call the attention to the sanitary government there please close that immediately

i rate this negative and negative 00000000000000000000000000

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011 via mobile

Right from the start I wasn't very impressed. Only reason I stayed in the first place was I'm on a college budget so the cheaper places usually win. When I arrived to check in the desk clerk was asleep with no way to wake her. They didn't have any kind of buzzer or doorbell to alert anyone was at the check-in "booth" (I arrived late after the office had closed). AFTER she woke up and filled in the check-in card did I see the rate was higher than advertised. She said it was the weekend rate. Had I know that it wasn't gonna be as cheap as I thought I should have gone somewhere else, but decided to give it a try since it was late and I was tired.

When I got to the room, it was freezing. They had the heat turned off, which I can kinda understand but at the same time I feel they should have a couple rooms on that are next to be rented out. First thing I did was check the sheets to make sure there weren't any stains of sort, luckily I found em to be clean. But that's about the only positive part of my stay. The room was missing basic ammenities such as an alarm clock and a hair dryer. The tv didn't have a remote, which didn't bother me since they didn't have a good selection of channels.

I had a very restless night. The heater was very loud and noisy and did not shut off the entire night. It kept waking me up and made it very hard to fall back asleep. The bed itself wasn't very comfortable, and the sheets didn't do much to keep me warm.

In the morning, I noticed the carpet was highly stained, which made me glad I had kept my socks on. When I went to take a shower, I noticed the toliet seat was extremely dirty. Never have I had to cover a seat at a hotel before. I feel like that shouldn't have to happen. When I got in the shower the tub was sticky, and the water didn't drain out properly. And then trying to find a decent temperature was a joke. If you moved the knob just slightly the temperature jumped drastically. There wasn't much of finding a satisfying spot. When I got out I find that the towel is really tiny. It barely fit around my waist, and I'm extremely skinny. That pissed me off.

All in all it was ok to crash for a few hours, but I will never sleep there again. Id rather pay a couple extra dollars and stay across the street at the motel 6. They may also be "cheap", but at least I've never had as bad problems with them as I did here.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I traveled to Indiana and was planning to stay 4 days in town. Could not find a good hotel decided to stay at Dollar Inn after driving all night long and all day. The good hotels were far from where I was going to visit. I paid the 4 days I would be in town. I really didn't want to stay at this hotel. Just by looking at it from the outside gave me the creeps. The room I was given was in the back. When I entered the room it looked bad. The furniture was old and dirty. The carpet was dirty. The bed looked dirty. The sheets were bad. Stains everywhere. The shower was dirty. The lock on the door didn't even lock and it had a cheap chain to lock it. When I saw the room I actually wanted to leave infact I wanted to back home to Texas. I didn't sleep all night long thinking someone was going to break in. I put a chair under the door knob because the door did not lock. This hotel looked like the hotels in a thriller movie. I will never ever stay there again. Even though I paid the 4 days. I was lucky and got my refund back and paid only one night. There is a Motel 6 across the street. I went there. And the rooms were better and cleaner. Clean sheets and towels. The tub was not too great but it sure did beat the Dollar Inn. And Motel 6 uses cards to open rooms and once you close the door inside it has a bolt lock. Sure made me feel safer. I stayed the next 3 days at Motel 6 and was happier. Even the people at the front desk were nice. Do not stay at the Dollar INN. It is nasty!!!!!!!!! I wish I would have taken pictures.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I read the reviews of other people who had really bad experiences. I think the badness of the motel was exaggerated.
I went there with my girlfriend while I was driving almost asleep. I should say, the location is really good, we found it while looking for another cheap hotel nearby! The guy at the check in was a polite boy and answered my questions with patience. The price was the lowest I had ever got for overnight stay.
The room, I should say, was simply bad in terms of cleanliness. My girlfriend stayed awake the whole night because she thought the blankets were not washed(I fell asleep before she could suggest me to leave!). The bed was comfortable but probably not clean. But I'm the type of person who doesn't care that much. The next day, I took a shower in the bathroom. The shower was not as bad as the shower in our dorm.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dollar Inn - Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dollar Inn - Indianapolis

Address: 6331 Crawfordsville Road, Indianapolis, IN 46224
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 185 hotels in Indianapolis
Also Known As:
Dollar Inn - Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Dollar Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dollar Inn - Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dollar Inn - Indianapolis to your Saves list