We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of The best Restaurant in Indianapolis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OAKLEY'S Bistro

OAKLEY'S Bistro
1464 W. 86th Street, Indianapolis, IN 46260-2181 (Washington)
317 824 1231
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
OAKLEY'S Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 2,023 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $1 - $28
Cuisines: American, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Washington
Cross street: 86th & Ditch Road
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“One of The best Restaurant in Indianapolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Chef Steven Oakey is way ahead of the curve. Ths is oneif the VERYbest restaurants in Indianapolis. Great specials, great menu, fantastic reasonable priced wine list and exceptional, professional, friendly service from the moment you enter

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    20
    9
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Elegant dishes in a casual environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Took six busines associates out to dinner and since some were from out of town I wanted someplace with some high level food but different than the usual steakhouse. Oakley's delivered on all counts. High points were the butternut squash soup, special aged pork dish, and chicken au coq vin. The chicken dish was especially well flavored with a dramtic presentation. We were all full enough no deserts were needed but they sure looked good. Each person raved about the pork.

The wine list is short but there were many good choices. Everyone liked the speciality cocktails they ordered as well. Service was competent, at a measured pace, but it never felt slow.

The french onion soup was flavored well but different than the usual prepartion; more of a broth soup than the cheese, bread soup normally found. I'd get something else next time. Fortunatately there are a lot of small plates and appetizers to explore. Looks like I will be going back with the wife to do so.

If you are at all into food then you should check this place out. It far outshines most other places I have found in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Indy Has to Offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wonderful, innovative and sophisticated food. The butternut squash soup is simply amazing! If you are fascinated by the dishes prepared on Top Chef, Oakley's will not disappoint.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris h, General Manager at OAKLEY'S Bistro, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. Steve does such a great job with food, he really puts his heart and soul into what he does and it's nice to hear back from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good local gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good service. Wonderful interesting menu items. I like the variety from small plates...we can pick and choose. There were also interesing large plate items. The butternut squash soup with ginger and jalepenos was awesome. The scallops were cooked perfectly. The homemade icecream - gelato sampler for desert was just right. Wonderful service. Our waitress was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent bistro food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had dinner on a week night with our daughter and son-in-law. Overall our experience was very good, with exceptions as noted below.

Among the appetizers, the hard-boiled eggs were a real winner. The vaunted shrimp corn dogs were disappointing---small, dried-out shrimp inside flavorless cornmeal that was far too much for the size of the shrimp.

Entrees and desserts were uniformly very good.

Our biggest issue was with the waiter, who was humorless and pedantic in his food descriptions. More significantly, we were using this dinner for a discussion of some family financial issues, and he constantly interrupted our conversation to do things that didn't need to be done. He seemed oblivious to the fact that each time he came to the table, we ceased our conversation until he departed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OAKLEY'S Bistro also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to OAKLEY'S Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OAKLEY'S Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.