We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument
Indianapolis, IN (Downtown Indianapolis)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 201 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A monument built in 1902 as a tribute to the Indiana soldiers who served in the Civil War.
Dimmitt, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“LOVED it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What an awe-inspiring monument. I loved the location and the sculptures were outstanding. A definite must see in downtown Indianapolis.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    41
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orient, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome 360 view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's a great stop on a sunny day when you're staying downtown. Easy walk from most downtown hotels. The museum is interesting and well laid out. The view is spectacular of all Indy including the capitol, stadium and World War Memorial. It's also very good exercise though the steps get narrow. Free to climb to the top...or take the elevator for $2 per person. It is a very small elevator so claustrophobics beware. There is a small gift shop at the base but, alas, no lapel pins. And such an easy design to use! Take an hour and take in the view.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A striking monument worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This monument is one of the more impressive structures I have visited. Right in the heart of downtown, with the surrounding buildings build with a curved facade to match the circle monument. Worth the trip to the top as well - I always return to this place every visit!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
233 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Free & Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It's free to go to the top and get a great view of the cIty. If you choose to take the elevator it costs $2/person. The memorial is about as tall as the statue of liberty and the surrounding area is very nice.

It has a gift shop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Hour to Kill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We only had an hour to kill before going back to the airport so we stopped on Pennsylvania St. We ended up wishing we had more than an hour once we really started walking around this war monument. Next time we visit we will be arranging this as one important part of our agenda!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument also viewed

 

Been to Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.