We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved going to the top of the monument” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument

Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument
Indianapolis, IN (Downtown Indianapolis)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 59 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A monument built in 1902 as a tribute to the Indiana soldiers who served in the Civil War.
Anamosa, Iowa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Kids loved going to the top of the monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A lot of history to see and read. It is free and in the center of downtown, so a must-see if you are in the area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    30
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Histopry at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is on eof my children's favorite museums to visit - you can do the circle city monument and the musem all together and then grab a treat at south bend chocolate! This one is a must see!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Museum and Monument!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A wonderful piece of Indiana history thoughtfully preserved! Everyone should visit and take the elevator to the top!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Try the stairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've been into downtown Indianapolis hundreds of times, but never visited the monument until this month. There was a minimal fee to take the elevator to the top of the monument, but I would have preferred the stairs (my husband didn't feel like climbing though). The wait for the elevator was about 10 minutes, and when we reached the top there was very little room to move around to see all four sides. However, once we were able to maneuver around, the views were pretty good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

wonderful, different type of museum, enjoyed it very much!
Very nice day so we could see everything and walk around the
town. Everyone we met there was a Civil war buff, so all questions were answered by employees also. Thanks

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument also viewed

 

Been to Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.