We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument
Indianapolis, IN (Downtown Indianapolis)
3172330528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 144 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A monument built in 1902 as a tribute to the Indiana soldiers who served in the Civil War.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Histopry at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is on eof my children's favorite museums to visit - you can do the circle city monument and the musem all together and then grab a treat at south bend chocolate! This one is a must see!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizaAllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New Palestine, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Museum and Monument!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A wonderful piece of Indiana history thoughtfully preserved! Everyone should visit and take the elevator to the top!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Try the stairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've been into downtown Indianapolis hundreds of times, but never visited the monument until this month. There was a minimal fee to take the elevator to the top of the monument, but I would have preferred the stairs (my husband didn't feel like climbing though). The wait for the elevator was about 10 minutes, and when we reached the top there was very little room to move around to see all four sides. However, once we were able to maneuver around, the views were pretty good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LLautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

wonderful, different type of museum, enjoyed it very much!
Very nice day so we could see everything and walk around the
town. Everyone we met there was a Civil war buff, so all questions were answered by employees also. Thanks

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pbpeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a look out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had some free time one weekend and decided to try this out. I walked by it almost every day while in Indy and wanted to know what it was all about. I decided to pay the minimal fee to get the elevator up but the wait was a little long for it and the elevator was tiny. Once up there the view was great but again it was busy and very warm up there. I decided against waiting to get the elevator down and took the stairs. I an glad I went up there to see it but if you can, wait until its not too busy and definitely do not do this if you are clostraphobic.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nici H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument also viewed

 

Been to Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing