We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Histopry at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument

Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument
Indianapolis, IN (Downtown Indianapolis)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 89 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A monument built in 1902 as a tribute to the Indiana soldiers who served in the Civil War.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Histopry at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is on eof my children's favorite museums to visit - you can do the circle city monument and the musem all together and then grab a treat at south bend chocolate! This one is a must see!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    30
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Palestine, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Museum and Monument!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A wonderful piece of Indiana history thoughtfully preserved! Everyone should visit and take the elevator to the top!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Try the stairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've been into downtown Indianapolis hundreds of times, but never visited the monument until this month. There was a minimal fee to take the elevator to the top of the monument, but I would have preferred the stairs (my husband didn't feel like climbing though). The wait for the elevator was about 10 minutes, and when we reached the top there was very little room to move around to see all four sides. However, once we were able to maneuver around, the views were pretty good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

wonderful, different type of museum, enjoyed it very much!
Very nice day so we could see everything and walk around the
town. Everyone we met there was a Civil war buff, so all questions were answered by employees also. Thanks

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a look out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had some free time one weekend and decided to try this out. I walked by it almost every day while in Indy and wanted to know what it was all about. I decided to pay the minimal fee to get the elevator up but the wait was a little long for it and the elevator was tiny. Once up there the view was great but again it was busy and very warm up there. I decided against waiting to get the elevator down and took the stairs. I an glad I went up there to see it but if you can, wait until its not too busy and definitely do not do this if you are clostraphobic.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument also viewed

 

Been to Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.