We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss the Museum and Monument!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument

Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument
Indianapolis, IN (Downtown Indianapolis)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 82 attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A monument built in 1902 as a tribute to the Indiana soldiers who served in the Civil War.
New Palestine, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Museum and Monument!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A wonderful piece of Indiana history thoughtfully preserved! Everyone should visit and take the elevator to the top!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    22
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Try the stairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've been into downtown Indianapolis hundreds of times, but never visited the monument until this month. There was a minimal fee to take the elevator to the top of the monument, but I would have preferred the stairs (my husband didn't feel like climbing though). The wait for the elevator was about 10 minutes, and when we reached the top there was very little room to move around to see all four sides. However, once we were able to maneuver around, the views were pretty good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

wonderful, different type of museum, enjoyed it very much!
Very nice day so we could see everything and walk around the
town. Everyone we met there was a Civil war buff, so all questions were answered by employees also. Thanks

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a look out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had some free time one weekend and decided to try this out. I walked by it almost every day while in Indy and wanted to know what it was all about. I decided to pay the minimal fee to get the elevator up but the wait was a little long for it and the elevator was tiny. Once up there the view was great but again it was busy and very warm up there. I decided against waiting to get the elevator down and took the stairs. I an glad I went up there to see it but if you can, wait until its not too busy and definitely do not do this if you are clostraphobic.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“City Center Stunner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a beautiful monument, right in the center of town, with fabulous statuary on all four sides and lovely fountains. There is a nice little civil war museum located under the monument that was free of charge. We did take the elevator to the top (you do have to take some stairs to get all the way to the top) - people who have issues with tight spaces should beware - there is barely room for two people to pass each other on the stairs, and the elevator is TINY!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument also viewed

 

Been to Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument to your Saves list