We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, The Columbia Club is selling her soul... to the common public” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Columbia Club to your Saves list
Columbia Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Monument Circle, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sadly, The Columbia Club is selling her soul... to the common public”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Echoing other recent reviews, The Columbia Club is no longer exclusively a private sanctuary of dues-paying members -- grudgingly, The Club will now take the money of the general public. (A little off-topic: I have to wonder how The Club can continue to collect membership dues for a private club experience that no longer exists?) The building, at 121 Monument Circle, is still enchanting in a sort of crumbly and fussy way; the Grand Lobby and Crystal Terrace are wonderful.

However, the food remains proudly oblivious of ALL nutritional and health recommendations of the last twenty years. And may I say that The Columbia Club menus are just embarrassingly pretentious in their attempts to cast grandeur, sophistication and refinement upon... the actual food that you will eventually get on a large plate from the kitchen. Eating at The Columbia Club just makes me feel sad... for everyone.

The stories of the hispanic housekeeper who cleans the toilet and drinking glasses -- in that order -- with the SAME rag, are legendary. And, also, sad. More prosaically, the furniture of The Columbia Club, frankly, is worn out and more suitable for a community garage sale than a proper overnight stay in a club with a "platinum" mission statement.

I guess it's the tired and desperate claim -- as though it was an entitlement -- to some long-past venerated status that irritates me about The Club. Times have moved on, and such attitudes of exclusivity and privilege are not fashionable (or particularly profitable!) any longer.

As to rooms, more specifically, only stay in one of the Circle rooms -- the view, and the extra money it costs, are worth it!

Ahhh, the Fitness Center: as I am a man, I can only advise skipping the cliquey little groups of naked, gossipy men in the changing rooms. :::shudders:::

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    14
    11
    12
See reviews for
6
18
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, IN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

The Columbia Club was a private club, members only, but has gone public. I got a very reasonable rate and my husband and I stayed 3 nights. The club is on Monument Circle, right downtown Indianapolis. You can't beat the location. The room was pleasant, nothing exceptional, clean and comfortable with windows that open!. The hotel itself is amazing, a beautiful architectural gem. The first two floors are stunning, with one of those neat marble staircases. There is a ballroom on one floor, and some private clubs upstairs. There are only 10 floors.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is formal, with doormen, valet parking, bellhops, the whole bit. Parking is $22 a night and you pretty much have to do that, since you're downtown and there's little parking available. You can have the car brought to you and use it as often as you want for that price.

There is a dress code for the Bistro, but doesn't seem to be too heavily enforced. While we were there, the place was fairly empty, so it was quiet and a little eerie.

It's not your usual Marriott or Holiday Inn but if you're up for something a little different, give it a try. I enjoyed it. We usually stay at B&B's so this was quite different, but not like a standard hotel.

We ate breakfast there one morning and it was good.

  • Liked — Location! The hotel was very beautiful also.
  • Disliked — Room was a little small.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

First of all you do not need be a member of The Colombia Club to stay there. I was in Indianapolis on buisness and was going to stay at Hilton but they were booked. The people at the Hilton called over to The Columbia Club and got me a room. The staff at the front desk were the only enjoyable thing there. The building itself is suposed to have this historic feel and vibe. It fails badly! The rooms need to be updated so bad. They look like cheap rooms from the late 80's. The room service took a long time and was awfull. Food was not good!!! I will not go back there, and iam in Indianapolis alot for work. It reminded me of the hotel in "The Shining".

  • Liked — I had a fantastic view of downtown.
  • Disliked — The food was terrible.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

I am a member of the Columbia Club and decided to book a suite for the weekend. We chose a renovated room facing Monument Circle. Everything in the room was new and beautifully decorated. Marble bathrooms, brass fixtures, elegant linens. Dinner in the Harrison Room amidst butter colored leather seating and mahogany paneled walls accompanied by a first rate pianist playing the Steinway while Dover Sole was served tableside. You must be a member of a reciprocal club or be sponsored by a member. Virtually every American president has stayed here. Be sure to view President Harrison's grand desk in the foyer and the magnificent lobby's custom woodworking.

  • Liked — Like being in a private British Club
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2005

First of all, you must be a member of a private club that has a reciprocal agreement with the Columbia Club or be sponsored by a member to stay there. Traveling from California, I arranged for my club to reserve a room at the CC for three nights. Located on Monument Circle in downtown Indianapolis, this venerable 1930s 10 story club looks like something out of a 1940 British mens's club. Beautiful wood paneling and red leather wing chairs, butter colored leather chairs and booths in the bar and Harrison Room, two other restaurants and bars in the Club.

Rooms on several floors have been gutted and beautifully refurbished with all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. Staff is cordial, discreet and accomodating. I can understand why every recent American president has stayed here. This is truly a rare gem in a city that is vibrant and on the move. If you can manage a reservation, by all means stay or at least visit ------.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2002

Excellent staff! Excellent food! Excellent experience!

The front-desk staff at this hotel could not have been better, professional, warm, personal service - the restaurant staff was equally as professional, discreet and unobtrusive - I did not have to search for anyone or request a single thing, the water glass was never empty - my coffee cup was always full!
Valet and bell-staff, was right there with the car - the ice, the bags and accurate directions - did not have much interaction with the housekeeping staff, but when I saw them, they were smiling and greeted me with a good morning or afternoon

I hope I have another reason to visit Indianapolis, just so I can stay at the Columbia Club again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Club

Address: 121 Monument Circle, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Columbia Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Club Hotel Indianapolis
Columbia Hotel Indianapolis
Columbia Club Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.