We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5221 Victory Dr., Indianapolis, IN 46203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“BED BUGS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Not only is this hotel dated with exterior doors, unclean, stained carpet, bathroom so small you can barely get in the door, hair in sink and tub, low quality internet, smelly, beer drinking guest in the parking lot, and then to get bed bugs. This hotel should have been closed back in the 1990. Now I must make a trip to hospital to get check out. Called the hotel front desk after I killed two of bed bugs and they only offer to change me to another room. This would have been room number 3 due to the fact room one air conditioning was not working on a day the temperature was over 95 degrees." AVOID THIS HOTEL'

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof13, Manager at Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,

It is unfortunate that you did not inform neither myself or my front desk staff of your complaint. We take allegations like this very seriously & investigate them thoroughly. It is also unfortunate that you never allowed me or my staff to apologize to you and the opportunity to try and make things right with you. We try to make each of our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. If you would be so kind as to contact me at (317) 788-9551 so I can get your information & the details of your allegations.

Regards,

Monte Suddeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    15
    11
    30
See reviews for
14
11
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago vicinity
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had a reservation "issue" at my preferred hotel, the Red Roof on the northside of Indianapolis, and stayed at this property instead. My rating is probably generous from the perspective of a high-maintenance traveler. But I was thankful to have found alternate facility as quickly and easily as I did.
This property has not been remodeled and updated, ever, unlike the northside Red Roof. Our room, like the hotel, looked old and dated. The color scheme was burgundy and hunter green, the fuzzy-feel good colors of the late 1980's. Nor did I feel any love for the old, picture-tube TV! The room was clean and everything worked. My chief complaint was that the towels were getting thin and our room was stocked with extra medium sized towels, presumably to make up for the fact that we short one large bath towel. Then again, the room was $15+ cheaper than the northside RR location. The service was mixed. The night clerk at check-in was friendly and quick. The day clerk at check-out moved at a glacial pace and could not have acted less interested in being there. The hotel is just off of I-465 and has lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof13, Manager at Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for posting a positive comments. The staff tries to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable experience. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Indianapolis. Sincerely, Monte Suddeth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was traveling and playing with my alumni group at The DCI World Championships at Lucas Oil Stadium. The desk girl gave me a nice room, on the ground floor so that I would not have to carry my tuba and case up the stairs. Very accommodating and gracious staff at this location. I did have a problem with the wifi, which they were working on just that week. I also had a clogged sink and just wanted to alert them of the problems. They gave me a full days discount to compensate for my room problems, which were very minor. I also got a nice cup of coffee to send me off after my stay. THIS particular location has NOT been renovated, like many of the Red Roof Inns are being this year. It still is quite nice, great water pressure and temp, clean beds, TV worked, safe right in the room...which they took the deposit off when I checked out, A/C was COLD...brrrrrrrr! Another great stay and only a few minutes from the downtown area. I saved so much by staying out of the downtown area, I was able to actual hire a private limo service to drive me in and out of the stadium area.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the site being not renovated yet...it is just fine, clean and comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof13, Manager at Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for posting positive comments. The staff tries to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable experience. We hope that you had a great time in Indianapolis. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Indianapolis. Sincerely, Monte Suddeth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47708
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed at Red Roof south on June 29. Looked at 4 rooms, all stunk really bad,
mostly moldy smell, but some had pet & beer smell. So finally selected one that
wasn't too bad upstairs BUT was next to about 20 construction workers who yelled,
cussed, yelled at one another, told very vulgar stories about bringing women to
the hotel, and I could smell pot all the time. I tried to nap, couldn't, asked for
money back, they refused at first, but , they finally gave
my money back. Never, never ever go to this dump, life is too short for such
an awful awful place, worst I ever stayed in. Ruined my evening but I found another motel
that was really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof13, Manager at Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies to you for not receiving a quality room. We do have many fine guest rooms at this location and I would like to investigate your situation further. Unfortunately I cannot locate your information. If you could be so kind as to contact me at your convenience at (317) 788-9551 to discuss your situation, as well as to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Once again, please accept my sincerest apologies and I am looking forward to speaking with you soon. Best Regards, Monte Suddeth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This one do need refurbish, carpet were old, TV has no turner, old furnitures, sunken in old bed, ac has no grille, etc. I will do better search from TripAdvisor of hotel next time in Indy for the price. Stayed at Lafayette RRI, nice bed, clean new carpet, flat screen TV, shower with soft water, individual drip coffee maker. I did not realize this one located at Indy South is this bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof13, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies to you for not receiving a quality room. We do have many fine guest rooms at this location and I would like to investigate your situation further. Unfortunately I cannot locate your information with just your initials. If you could be so kind as to contact me at your convenience at (317) 788-9551 to discuss your situation, as well as to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Once again, please accept my sincerest apologies and I am looking forward to speaking with you soon. Best Regards, Monte Suddeth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed one night will never do again, I'm stay at that red roof all over the country this is by far the worst! will never stay again going to do some research on Red roof. put me in one room couldn't even though just for all the knobs are broke on air conditioner. woke up in morning carpet all wet been raining all night I haven't got a clue why. very dirty gave me trouble about returning money so you stayed

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof13, Manager at Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Property. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies to you for not having a satisfactory stay with us. I would like to point out to you that your reservation was made thru Expedia and not with the hotel directly. This is why the refund that you had requested could not be processed at the time of your departure. I wanted to let you know that I have reached out to Expedia and requested that they issue a refund for your night's stay. Thank you again for expressing your concerns with us. Sincerely, Monte Suddeth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

For a good price, the Red Roof was good with central location in the south part of Indy. Check in and out went smoothly. room was quiet -had a king room with a computer area which was nice. No swimming pool or fitness center so unfair to rate

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center so not appropriate to rate but computer made me
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof13, Manager at Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for posting a positive comments. The staff tries to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable experience. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Indianapolis. Sincerely, Monte Suddeth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South

Address: 5221 Victory Dr., Indianapolis, IN 46203
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.