We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8180 N Shadeland Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
IND
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best in Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This was my first stay at a Drury property since I was around 9 years old, at the old Stapleton airport in Denver when we had a flight cancelled. So, it's been a few, ahem, decades.

Obviously, there had been some great reviews of this property before, and I had stayed across the street at the Hilton earlier in the year. In comparison with other hotels in the area, including Staybridge, Embassy Suites, and the Hilton, this property completely outdoes them all.

Check-in was quick, and the hosts were extremely friendly.

We reserved a suite, so we could have some additional privacy and allow our restless toddler the opportunity to get some sleep (he is a light-sleeper). The suites are ~30% larger than Embassy Suites rooms, and have a full-size couch, as well as a recliner, and 37" flat-screens with HD channels. The hallway separating the bedroom was 12' long, with a nice sink and countertop where the fridge and microwave was tucked away. The beds were comfortable and there was a variety of pillow firmness.

At 5:30, we decided to check out their iteration of a manager's reception with the 'kickback'. It was great, with a nice selection of hot foods, a potato bar, egg rolls, and some fruit/veggies and what looked to be a bagged salad poured into a nice buffet holder. In addition, popcorn is available all day, as well as a soda-station; both are open until 10 PM, so you can get free snacks/soda until then.

The pool is indoor/outdoor; understanding this, in the wintertime, the indoor section would be considered small. The hot tub was nicely sized, the exercise room was relatively small, with 3 ellipticals, and 2 treadmills. The business center had 2 PCs and a free print/scanner hooked up to both machines. Wifi was free and fast throughout the property.

In the morning, the breakfast had scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon, biscuits/gravy, french toast, a waffle station, and cereal bar. There were pastries and yogurt as well, though not much in the way of fruit.

Overall, it was a FANTASTIC stay, and a great value, inasmuch as you can feed kids and yourselves at the kickback substantially, and spread out in large rooms and enjoy friendly service. My parents were with us and had reserved a king room which faced I-69; they did say there was some road noise, but it was relatively isolated.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    86
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
158
78
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salida, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Let's just say dont ever book thru hotels.com if youre staying here. We reserved a two room suite...only to find out that they don't deal with hotels.com very well. After finding out our suite wasn't available, we were sent to a regular room. Not a huge deal, but not what we ordered. Had to call hotels.com...$100 voucher (still unacceptable).

Anyway...the hotel is nice. Room was clean. However, the pool area leaves a lot to be desired. At 9 pm at night, hot tub full of screaming kids. No management in sight. In california and Nevada, children under 12 aren't allowed in hottubs for heath issues. Obviously not in Indiana. Kids were unsupervised, which I understand isnt the hotels issue, but the sign clearly states no children unsupervised.

The drink and snack thing was cool. Very loud on a saturday night and packed. We opted to go to P.F. Changs instead. Fabulous.

Breakfast was ok for a free breakfast. Eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, waffles. Was very good.

Management needs to step it up a little at this place. The pool area needs to be regulated better or else there will be injuries or a lawsuit with children. And if they don't work with hotels.com better there will be nothing but unrest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We really love the Drury Suites hotel chain but this one exceeded our expectations! The staff was the most helpful and friendly I have ever met! Sometimes you will meet someone that is nice or does over and above the call of duty. In this hotel, however, it seemed like every single employee fit that description! This was a great place to stay from the free wifi which worked wonderfully, free hot breakfast (get there early, it fills up quickly, especially if you want to make waffles), free evening hors d'oeuvres, free soda and popcorn in the lobby, the wonderful indoor/outdoor swimming pool, and the fact that pets stay free! This hotel doesn't really have anything within walking distance if that is a concern although we did walk to the Golden Corral restaurant for dinner but it was a bit of a hike (especially once you stuff yourself, LOL!). A great place to stay and we will definitely be coming back again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The hotel was super amazing! from when I walked in the front door, I was greeted by Ebony. She was super amazing!! Ebony made me feel like I was home! upon leaving, Trish was amazing!! super nice!! The housekeepers were amazing too!!!! They are some sweet woman! I really enjoyed my stay here, and would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family! Thanks again, Ebony, Trish, and housekeepers for my amazing stay!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The room was clean, the service excellent with friendly staff. They do not charge you for every little thing like some do. The bed is so comfortable I looked to see what brand it was. Spacious bath and large screen tv are nice. The food was prepared on site (free) and delicious. Close to everything and getting to conseco Fieldhouse was a staright shot, taking only 10 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago. ill
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for it's location. I was surprised how spacious the room was. The KickBack hour was just what we needed after a long drive. we enjoyed the cocktails and finger foods. We checked out the next morning after enjoying a great breakfast. After arriving home my husband realized that he had left some important gear in the drawer at the bedside table. He called the hotel and spoke with Max asst. manager. Max mailed his gear back to him in a few days. Everything was in perfect condition. NOW that's great customer service!!






k

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Needed an overnight stop while traveling from PA to IA ... this fit the bill perfectly! Second Drury we've been to, and both have been great. Great staff, top notch rooms (comfy bed, solid materials, very large, quiet, and spotless), nice amenities, and free hot breakfast buffet, all for under $100.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast

Address: 8180 N Shadeland Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46250
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. You may know Indianapolis for racing, but the city has plenty to offer outside of its world-famous Brickyard. Indiana’s largest city is full of exciting attractions and events. Stay with us while you explore them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Indianapolis Northeast
Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast Hotel Indianapolis
Drury Inn Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.