We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with a couple small issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8180 N Shadeland Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Mooresville, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice stay with a couple small issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for the first time at the end of last year and again during our wedding. We were originally attracted to this facility as they allow pets at no charge. They also had excellent online reviews. We were impressed by the level of customer service we received and we were offered an additional night for half price. We decided to take them up on the offer. They also have a light dinner and cocktail hour each evening. The dinner isn't of the healthiest variety but it's free, so we'll take it. They also give you three free alcoholic beverages each evening. We don't drink but thought this was a great value. They had a full hot breakfast, as well. Briefly after our arrival, we received a knock on our door. It was children selling candy to help "homeless children". We didn't buy it and went about our business. A few minutes later another knock, the same thing. I called the front desk to let them know about this. It didn't happen again. Other than the soliciting, we were happy with our stay. We decided to use them for our stay during our wedding, as well as, for our guests to stay at. We set up an account with them so guests could book their room under our name. Some of guests were paying for their rooms, we payed for the wedding party's accommodations. They had a lot of confusion over this, especially once we checked in. I received a call from the front desk during my rehearsal dinner asking if we were paying for photographer's room. I told them we were and told them to use our credit card. This was a little annoying because of the timing and the fact we had given them our credit card during check and explained the situation again at that time. They were very apologetic and fixed it. With the exception of this issue, I was pleased with our stay. The hotel gets pretty crowded in the evening on the weekends, particularly downstairs. The elevators are slow during this time. This normally wouldn't be a problem, as I don't mind climbing stairs but nine stories in a wedding dress isn't easy.

To sum it up this hotel reminds me a bit of Embassy Suite hotels. The cocktail hour and light dinner, along with the full breakfast seemed very similar to Embassy Suites. The room we stayed at on our wedding night was more reminiscent of the large suites, as well. Although the huge with jacuzzi tub was an added bonus. They also allow pets for no charge.

I think if we stay at a Drury Inn again it'll be because pets are allowed for no charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    70
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
136
72
8
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at Drury on 04/25/2013
1. Check-in was fast and attendant was friendly.
2. Card access keys don't always work the first time you slide them into the door. Sometimes it takes 2-3 tries.
3. I like that Drury serves an evening meal. It a simple meal of hot dogs, chips, macaroni, salad, etc... I like that you don't have to spend money and time going out to eat. The only problem with is that they don't offer desserts. Some Drury Inns offer desserts with the evening meal.
4. The room I reserved had a sleeper sofa. When I opened the sleeper sofa there were tortilla chip crumbs in the mattress. The maids should make a point to open the sofa sleeper every time they clean the room to make sure there aren't any crumbs in the mattress.
5. There was a triangular stain by the recliner.
6. The staff called after I arrived in the room to ask if there were any problems with the room. At the time I didn't notice the tortilla crumbs or stain on the floor.
7. The Dining area was jam packed with guests so it was a little difficult finding seating.
Other than the tortilla crumbs and stain on the carpet I probably would have given this hotel a 5.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a suite that has a door to the bedroom then Drury has rooms that will fit you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A weekend visit to Indianapolis for a birthday party. We didn't expect to spend much time at the hotel and we didn't. Room was clean and comfortable. The microwave and refrigerator was a plus we didn't use. The included breakfast was OK, but not too much variety. Can't expect too much from a free included breakfast. We weren't around for the free afternoon snack and drink hour. Certainly reasonably priced and highway accessible. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed a friday night of spring break, and it was BUSY. But the staff stepped it up and made the visit great. Kids loved the pool and free soda. If you have kids hard to beat Drury Inns. This hotel is close to shopping, resturants and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed at a Drury Inn for the first time and was fairly impressed. The price was competative, the room was clean and modern. The unexpected was the snack in the evenings, that was an actual snack. The complimentary breakfast was ample as well. If you have not tried a Drury Inn give it a try...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights over spring break to visit the museum and Conner Prairie. This place is fantastic. I have yet to have a negative experience at a Drury Inn. The hotel was slam packed full since it was spring break for most everyone. The lines at breakfast and the kickback were long, but moved along quickly. I never once came in contact with an employee where I was not greeted with a smile.They were all working hard and busting their rumps to keep up with the crowds. This is a great place for families. The rates are impressive for what you get and this place just cannot be beat. I always look for a Drury property first regardless of where I am going. The rooms are clean and updated, free wifi, free food, and free drinks. What more could you ask for?

Steve, the General Manager was everywhere! It didn't matter if it was 8:30 in the morning or 8:30 at night, he was busy and working with a smile on his face. I saw him helping out at the bar, the food service area, and the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the usual Drury Inn property; family friendly with their free full breakfast and free evening reception. The hotel is very clean and the staff is always cleaning. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a three room suite for under $120.00/nt, and you are not going to find this anywhere and get full breakfast and evening appetizers.

The breakfast is great, a lot of variety. Appetizers, which could really be a meal is good for a night or two; not a lot of variety and repeats, but it is great for the kids. For a change, give MacKenzie River Pizza, just a few miles west on 82nd Street a try.

We traveled during what was apparently spring break for every school in the entire State of Indiana so the hotel was a bit chaotic; long lines at breakfast and reception and the pool area was a complete mad house but the hotel staff did well dealing with some impatient people. For the size of the hotel the pool is small. It is an indoor/outdoor swim through pool but small on both sides. The exercise room could be bigger, a couple of treadmills and an elliptical, and some dumbbells, not real roomy.

We took trips to the Children's museum and the zoo. This is a great place to stay for these trips, again, because of the great value - you are going to pay double these prices downtown for less accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast

Address: 8180 N Shadeland Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46250
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#11 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#12 Best Value Hotel in Indianapolis
#13 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. You may know Indianapolis for racing, but the city has plenty to offer outside of its world-famous Brickyard. Indiana’s largest city is full of exciting attractions and events. Stay with us while you explore them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast Hotel Indianapolis
Drury Inn And Suites Indianapolis Northeast
Drury Inn Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.