We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Scottish Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MacNiven's

MacNiven's
339 Massachusetts Ave., Indianapolis, IN (Downtown Indianapolis)
317-632-7268
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 2,023 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: American, Scottish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average Scottish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Pretty good scotch selection, and good Scottish-style and local beers at average prices. I do LOVE that they have Irn Bru and Barr's ginger beer. It's not really a Scottish place if it doesn't, right? Otherwise an average Scottish-type bar in terms of decor. The service was fine, and the music, mostly Britpop, is fitting, and great if that's what you're into.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good selection of Scottish food and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Begin with scotch eggs for a starter then pick from several excellent mains including very respectable fish and chips, burgers, and sausages. The beer selection is always good and the service is laid back and efficient. Have eaten here 10 times and will keep coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Fun bar with good food on Mass Ave. Try the Scotch eggs. Very good. A perfect place to go for good beer and warm food on a chilly day (or any time).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Consistent Winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great atmosphere and hangout place. Very good selection of beers, haggis anyone?, and a unique burger. The place fits like a glove, and 007 aficionados will enjoy the bathrooms.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food, Large Portions, and Awesome Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I went here with a friend before going to a concert at the Murat. The Scottish version of "French Onion Soup" was delightfully different. Very light with a smoothness that was quite pleasing - must have been from the alcohol they used. Best idea on the menu was the offering of a taste of the "regular" and "vegetarian" haggis. I tasted both and much preferred the traditional version...the vegetarian was a little spicy for me. I haven't had haggis a lot, but I liked their version. The sides of neeps and tatties were huge. We were glad we split them. Our waitress was very attentive and took great care of us. This is a charming restaurant/bar, and I hope to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacNiven's also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to MacNiven's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacNiven's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.