We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas time at Lilly House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oldfields-Lilly House and Gardens

Oldfields-Lilly House and Gardens
Indianapolis Museum of Art, 4000 Michigan Road, Indianapolis, IN 46208-3326
317-920-2660 or 317-923-1331
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #28 of 80 attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Museums, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas time at Lilly House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was a nice outing during Christmas break to visit the IMA and Oldfields-Lilly House. It was decorated for Christmas. It was just a little too busy so I felt rushed, but overall a nice experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Lilly Estate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Nice house and grounds but not on par with other estate in America. Expectations are that you would see a far more opulent house and furniture with graciously designed grounds and gardens. Not so.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful piece of history worth exploring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The property is beautiful, both the home and the gardens around it. It offers several options including a group tour at designated times or the ability to just explore the house on your own. That's what we opted for. It was filled with beautiful, authentic pieces and decorated for the holidays. Each room had pictures of the evolution of the space throughout the years and there were a lot of interesting historical details about the people who lived there and what life was like in the Indianapolis area during those days. Plus, it was free admission which made it even better!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“FREE! Lovely gardens.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was so easy to get to from downtown. And and interesting little drive there. This is on the same grounds as the Art Museum which can be a bit confusing at first. We stopped by the greenhouse first. They had many interesting plants fort purchase and a little gift shop with unique items. We then moved on to the house and were pleasantly surprised to find it was free. They talked about a special holiday shop in the house but it was not much to speak of. A few ornaments and such but nothing special or distinctive. You can do a self guided tour or use a docent. Our time constraints dictacted we do the self guided tour. I love olf houses and this was a good one. Furnishing were a bit tired but I could mostly look past that and imagine the home in it's heyday. They often had photos of what it looked lie "when". The docent in the front hall was a mean crusty old woman. Why she was there I'll never know.

They already had holiday decorations up and there were unfortunate. I realize this was a free tour but they were sad pieces that were just pieced together. A bit tacky.

I did love seeing this old house and am so glad we made the drive out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This home is especially beautiful to visit during the holiday season.Highly recommend going on the tour. Worth learning more about the history of this beautiful home and the grounds. A photographers paradise with the lush landscape.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oldfields-Lilly House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Oldfields-Lilly House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldfields-Lilly House and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.