We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pancakes Ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maxine's Chicken & Waffles

Maxine's Chicken & Waffles
132 N East St, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)
(317) 423-3300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 2,023 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Pancakes Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This place has the best pancakes I've ever tasted in my life. Nothing else matters. I suggest the sweet potato pancakes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality food that never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The food at Maxine's is simply amazing. It's a small family-run business, and the quality food is nothing short of amazing. It's always a treat for me to go. The portions are large enough when I order the chicken and waffles that I always have some to take home. I suggest the chicken and sweet potato waffles. When I first went, I ordered the plain waffle, and while it was good, the sweet potato waffle is great. The service is a bit slow, but I quickly forgot about that once I began eating. It also helps that the servers are extremely pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food was great, service not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We waited 40 minutes here for our food, watching others who came in after us get their food before us. The waitress made one week apology, with no explanation. When I asked when my to-go order would be ready, she checked and said 4 minutes. 12 minutes later I finally had that.

Just seems like the place is poorly run, disorganized, and kind of lackadaisical. The food was terrific, but seemed a bit pricey for what it is.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for food cooked with pride and love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I'm a Commercial Driver, and was in this city this past Saturday. My co driver had a daughter that lived there, so she came to get us and take us out for lunch. I wanted Soul Food, and this is were she brought us. All of us sat down together and had lunch together as one big family, it was four of us. We are great with smiles at the door. The chef came to visit our table. All the food had large portions, and had a taste of love every bite. Make sure you ask for the cornbread and homemade peach butter, it is a delight to your tongue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Be ready....they charge for everything.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The last time I went to Maxine's chicken and waffles....was three years ago because I was unhappy with the service and the food. My friends begged me to go in Saturday and still not impressed. We all ordered at the same time, we all ordered chicken and waffles. Our food came out at different times, which wasn't a deal breaker but just a little annoyed. We were given (4 of us total) one small syrup...we asked for more syrup.....waited.....we asked again.....waited....we asked again and they said they would have to charge us. Two of us ordered iced tea with our meal. They requested more lemons since only only thin slice came in the glass. We requested more lemons....the waitress said she had to ask her manager. The waitress came back and said they had to charge us for extra lemons.....ugh...which we agreed to pay. She came back after speaking to her manager stating her manager said she could not sell us any additional lemons. WHAT?! so we just asked for our checks and four to go boxes. Our waitress returned with two boxes....we were scared to ask for the other two since everything else was a charge. The food was ok....nothing to write home about especially after dealing with the poor service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxine's Chicken & Waffles also viewed

Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Maxine's Chicken & Waffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxine's Chicken & Waffles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.