We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indy Hostel

Save Saved
You added Indy Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indy Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   4903 Winthrop Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46205   |  
Hotel amenities
Rego Park, New York, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Indianapolis's only hostel. Located in the quiet (but very trendy) Broad Ripple residential neighborhood about a fifteen minute drive from downtown. Staff is wonderful and energetic, facilities are comfortable and well maintained, and you will enjoy meeting your fellow travelers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    33
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
15
31
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

the private room was really nice. the only thing i would recommend would be a door to the bathroom as opposed to a curtain. also, it would be wise for guests to check the door code before heading to broadripple only to return and find that it doesn't work.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in the full bath ensuite room. Very nice and clean, kinda like a bed and breakfast, but cheaper and without the breakfast.

Staff was very helpful, made us feel welcome, even woke up in the middle of the night to help out when we were having trouble with the door.

Definitely going back next time in Indy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

So happy we found Indy Hostel. We were in town for a friend's wedding over the New Year's weekend and this spot couldn't have been more convenient. A short bus ride from the heart of Broad Ripple; same for downtown. Price more than fair. The hostel itself is warm, bright and very comfortable; it's clear the staff pays attention to the details and importantly makes everyone feel at home. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back if we find ourselves in Indy again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It is a good place to stay over. Nice people, nice community. Although it is a little bit far from downtown, you can find bus services in that area.
I have been there twice, for social event and job interview. The rooms are very clean, and it is quiet. Kevin and John, the staff there, are very nice people, and they will help you as long as they could. In addition, the price is reasonable.
All in all, I love this place, and I would recommend you staying there if you are in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was in town for a social work confrence and need resonable accomiadtions. The Indy Hostel was perfectly priced and extremely convenient to the location of my confrence. I booked the private room with a bathrrom and was very happy. I would stay there again if every in Indy for Business.
Great place to stay and great people to meet.

Room Tip: If your alone and like a more private feel go for the private room, but if you are with friend or do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Two friends and I stayed at the Indy Hostel for just one night while we were in town for a concert, but we all agreed we need to come back! I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in town. Indy Hostel has such a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere. They've also got a kitchen and laundry facilities, which make it an even more convenient and comfortable place to stay. I look forward to returning with friends in the summer so we can ride the Monon trail and enjoy all the other things Indy and Broad Ripple have to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indy Hostel

Address: 4903 Winthrop Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46205
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Indy Hostel 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like to really feel a town, meet the people, and experience the food and lifestyle of the locals, then Indy Hostel is the place to stay!!!! We have the friendly atmosphere of a hostel with the style of a bed and breakfast inn. We are near downtown but nestled in a quiet Broad Ripple neighborhood near local restaurants, shops, and entertainment venues. Indy Hostel is in the 'Heart' of Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Indy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indy Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.