We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indy Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Indy Hostel to your Saves list
Indy Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   4903 Winthrop Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Group Bookings
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It is a good place to stay over. Nice people, nice community. Although it is a little bit far from downtown, you can find bus services in that area.
I have been there twice, for social event and job interview. The rooms are very clean, and it is quiet. Kevin and John, the staff there, are very nice people, and they will help you as long as they could. In addition, the price is reasonable.
All in all, I love this place, and I would recommend you staying there if you are in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    34
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
16
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was in town for a social work confrence and need resonable accomiadtions. The Indy Hostel was perfectly priced and extremely convenient to the location of my confrence. I booked the private room with a bathrrom and was very happy. I would stay there again if every in Indy for Business.
Great place to stay and great people to meet.

Room Tip: If your alone and like a more private feel go for the private room, but if you are with friend or do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Two friends and I stayed at the Indy Hostel for just one night while we were in town for a concert, but we all agreed we need to come back! I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in town. Indy Hostel has such a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere. They've also got a kitchen and laundry facilities, which make it an even more convenient and comfortable place to stay. I look forward to returning with friends in the summer so we can ride the Monon trail and enjoy all the other things Indy and Broad Ripple have to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I loved it here. Everything was extremely easy, and the staff was exceptionally friendly and nice. It felt like home. I will definitely stay here again if I ever have reason to be in Indianapolis. Don't get a hotel if this hostel is available!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you don't mind sharing a room, sharing a bathroom, sharing a frig, and taking the bus for 25 mins into town, or a $15 taxi back and forth, this is the place for you. For $30/night it sure beats the $190 hotels in town. Pluses: you get to see more of the city, ride the bus with locals, meet Kevin (the host who drove me the first night to a section of restaurants 8 blocks away), another conferee from Taiwan was staying there to keep his costs down too, and we had great conversations. Clean, comfortable enough, quiet, 2 bathrooms meant no waiting, nice little book selection. Enjoy! Sam Nickels, Harrisonburg VA.

Room Tip: Check the bus route schedules, because the bus only passes every 30 minutes. Takes 10 minutes to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Super nice, helpful, welcoming host, easy parking. Nice kitchen to use. Ensuite bath small but clean & just fine. Room was very clean & comfortable. A great deal. Not the Ritz, but warm & comfy. Neighborhood a bit funky but had fun shops & cafes (think you may need a car to get to).
Fresh Fields grocery is nearby & restaurant kitty corner is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My friend and I needed a place to stay for the night. I booked last minute and my friend was booked as a walk in! We got there at 1am and the hostess was so sweet and welcoming despite of the time. The bedrooms were nice and clean as were the bathrooms. It was so wonderful, I'm definitely going to come back and stay longer! Not scary our awkward at all. It is a good one to start out in if your new to the hostel experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Indy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indy Hostel

Address: 4903 Winthrop Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Indy Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like to really feel a town, meet the people, and experience the food and lifestyle of the locals, then Indy Hostel is the place to stay!!!! We have the friendly atmosphere of a hostel with the style of a bed and breakfast inn. We are near downtown but nestled in a quiet Broad Ripple neighborhood near local restaurants, shops, and entertainment venues. Indy Hostel is in the 'Heart' of Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Indy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indy Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.