We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this place!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Taste Cafe & Marketplace

Taste Cafe & Marketplace
5164 N College Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46205-1136
317-925-2233
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #498 of 1,921 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
1 review
“Stay away from this place!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Food was mediocre at best. Their chef/owner has no idea how to prepare food. Overcooked vegetables and undercooked proteins is the theme of this restaurant. Disgusting. They could also clean a lot better. The bathroom was filthy and my table was sticky- I felt like I was at Chuck E Cheese. Overpriced menu too. Just go somewhere / anywhere else and you'll receive better food at a better price in a cleaner environment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    4
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Salads and sandwiches are always great. I love their different choices of sides. Fries cant be beat. A little expensive for a self serve place but worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
“Terrible customer service especially from Marc the Chef/Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Terrible customer service especially from the Chef/Owner.

I ordered lunch there and a slice of key lime pie. After two different pieces of pie that each had a hair(s) on them I was able to talk to Marc (the Chef/Owner). He did not believe that I had a hair on my pie and I had to show him three different times since the lighting is very dim towards the counter. He even said to me that he had "inspected the second piece but not under a microscope." He never once apologized and I had to ask him to give me my money back for the slice of pie. Very disappointing!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great presented gourmet urban food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I had breakfast here and found a new favorite. Although little far for us we'll certainly return.
The food was very tasty but also well presented and with enough diverse menu for every taste. I enjoy more sophisticated, urban food with european touch of healthy dish. And got exactly what I wanted. My husband is more traditional but he did not got disappointed either. And on top of food this place serves great coffee and tea.
If wouldn't be for the cold, got really chilly inside, this place would deserve a 5 rating. Give it a try, worth to experience for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quality ingredients make for delicious fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Taste offers healthy and fresh options for lunchtime. I typically select a salad from their enticing offerings. The atmosphere is inviting. It is a great place to meet friends for lunch. Usually you can linger over tea or coffee if you go a bit after the lunch hour crowd has dwindled. Fun and tasty spot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Cafe & Marketplace also viewed

Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Taste Cafe & Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste Cafe & Marketplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.