We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome museum....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eiteljorg Museum

The Eiteljorg Museum
500 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204
317 636 9378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 64 Attractions in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: History museums, Specialty museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum houses Indian artifacts, as well as works by famous Western artists.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome museum....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great guitar exhibit......the southwestern / native american artifacts were totally amazing.... Highly recommend stop by....

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    90
    19
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gift shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spend some time checking out the gift shop. We like to buy books as souvenirs of our travels. Lots of great ones here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We saw the guitar exhibit, which was cool & there were craft vendors there today with some really neat things for sale!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Wishing for more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I enjoyed the visit to Eiteljorg. Neat building along the canal with many wonderful paintings of the West & Indian art and artifacts. I was slightly disappointed that there weren't more exhibits. Would have enjoyed more sculptures, especially large ones. The guitar exhibit was quite extensive & interesting, however that is a temporary exhibit. I hope the museum continues to grow and add to its attractions. Spent about an hour there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimmitt, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This museum claims to be full of western history and art but we found it to be very boring and the art was not of much significance. Definitely not worth the time or money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eiteljorg Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Eiteljorg Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eiteljorg Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.