We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome museum....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eiteljorg Museum

The Eiteljorg Museum
500 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204
317 636 9378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 205 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum houses Indian artifacts, as well as works by famous Western artists.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome museum....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great guitar exhibit......the southwestern / native american artifacts were totally amazing.... Highly recommend stop by....

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    107
    22
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gift shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spend some time checking out the gift shop. We like to buy books as souvenirs of our travels. Lots of great ones here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We saw the guitar exhibit, which was cool & there were craft vendors there today with some really neat things for sale!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
Level Contributor
189 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Wishing for more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I enjoyed the visit to Eiteljorg. Neat building along the canal with many wonderful paintings of the West & Indian art and artifacts. I was slightly disappointed that there weren't more exhibits. Would have enjoyed more sculptures, especially large ones. The guitar exhibit was quite extensive & interesting, however that is a temporary exhibit. I hope the museum continues to grow and add to its attractions. Spent about an hour there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimmitt, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This museum claims to be full of western history and art but we found it to be very boring and the art was not of much significance. Definitely not worth the time or money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eiteljorg Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Eiteljorg Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eiteljorg Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.