We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eiteljorg Museum

The Eiteljorg Museum
500 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204
317 636 9378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 89 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Museums, History Museums, Specialty Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The museum houses Indian artifacts, as well as works by famous Western artists.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Birthday Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wanted to go see the train exhibit for my birthday and it was more than i expected. We had a really good time and the National Geographic exhibit was really good as well. Nice exhibit and beautiful location. I don't recommend small children. Not a lot here for them. My teeanage daughter really liked the museum. The gift store is also top notch. Usually don't find the quality of items we found here. Bought several Christmas presents while there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    85
    16
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Palestine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Jingle Rails is spectacular!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am not normally a model train enthusiast, however, this exhibit is fabulous! It is set up as trains through the national parks, and downtown Indianapolis. I don't know if I really looked at the trains so much, as the scenery around them was incredible! Even if you're not thrilled by trains, if you enjoy minatures or the "Christmas Village" kind of displays, this is well worth the visit! There was also an exhibit on National Geographic photography that was incredible, we would have liked to spend more time in that exhibit, as there was a film that was very good, but lengthy, however, we didn't plan for more than an hour or so. Typically, when my kids were younger, we could go through the museum rather quickly, but with the jingle rails exhibit and the National Geographic exhibit, you'll want to allow a little extra time. There are some permanent exhibits upstairs that have hands on for the kids (younger), which are nice, but my teens practically raced through that area. This is a nice museum to spend an afternoon in, especially when the jingle rails exhibit is there in the winter. In the warmer weather, you could easily combine a trip here with a walk, bicycle, or boat ride on the canal. If your kids are students (or if you are), there is a good discount (with student ID), also the entertainment book has a coupon for a free admission with purchase of another, so this makes the ntry price very affordable!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jingle Rails is a great family event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have really enjoyed going to the Jingle Rails exhibit each year. This has brought a larger crowd of people through the museum than in years past....which is why I think it's become "very good". The Jingle Rails exhibit doesn't take long to visit, so it leaves plenty of time to see the rest of the museum. We have 3 kids, under 10, and like to take them downstairs to the childrens area. I will say that our kids wish for MORE family friendly activities throughout the museum that would be year round. There'snot much "draw" to this museum otherwilse, and that's a shame. It's beautiful!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Native American and western art collection are superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Absolutely fantastic museum and gallery. Great special exhibits during the holidays. If you are even vaguely familiar with America's greatest western artists, you will be blown away by this place. Great sculptures and paintings. In addition, the Native American collection is rightfully known to be one of the best anywhere. The beadwork especially impressed me. Bottom line: one of many good reasons to visit Indy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Ideas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Eiteljorg museum had an "Iron Horse" exhibit that we all loved. It shocased motorcycles from across the world and their story or attachment the american indians. It was a great exhibit.!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eiteljorg Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Eiteljorg Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eiteljorg Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.