We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Historical Society

Indiana Historical Society
450 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202 (Downtown Indianapolis)
317-232-1882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 83 attractions in Indianapolis
Type: History Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Since 1830, the Indiana Historical Society has been Indiana’s Storyteller™, connecting people to the past by collecting, preserving, interpreting and sharing the state's history. A private, nonprofit membership organization, IHS maintains the nation's premier research library and archives on the history of Indiana and the Old Northwest and presents a unique set of visitor exhibitions called the Indiana Experience. IHS also provides support and assistance to local museums and historical groups, publishes books and periodicals; sponsors teacher workshops; and provides youth, adult and family programming.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the commercials that are constantly extoling the virtues of being a part of historic moments, I thought this would be a cool place to visit. My daughter and I were disappointed because the exhibits were small and there were few interactive experiences.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Palestine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The actors are great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spending the day at an Indiana history museum is not something that would usually appeal to me, however, this museum is set up very differently than most. They have some permanent exhibits with computer interactions that give you history on some interesting topics in Indiana's history. They also have rotating exhibits, where you go "back in time" with live actors representing people from that time period! The actors are incredible! They are so knowledgeable, and never break from their "role"! The "Christian Temperance" woman in the prohibition exhibit was a hoot! I only wish they had more of these live action exhibits (there were three when we went over Christmas break), and that they could change them more often. There is a restaurant in the bottom floor, which has food for a meal or for snacks, and in the warmer weather you can sit out by the canal with your food or drinks and enjoy the view. They do have some free admission days (and I could have sworn their website said the day we went was free admission, but it turned out not to be), but otherwise there is a cost for admission and if you think you might go more than twice a year, a membership is very reasonably priced and would be a worthwhile option. One important note, there is a parking lot for the museum off of New York street where you get a "ticket" when you park, if you ask at the front desk they will validate your parking and it will be free (but we had to ask, they did not offer). I think this exhibit would appeal to school age children and above in particular, however, we saw several preschoolers there who really seemed to enjoy the live action exhibits.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Indianapolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

You do not think Museum when you hear Historical Society - yet this building in addition to being a great research collection has an amazing interactive collection that puts the viewer into the historic event. There are rotating exhibits with period actors playing the parts of the history being described. And the food downstairs is good as well! Best time is in late spring when you can eat outside along the canal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Histroy coming to life!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Indiana Historical Society provides a new concept in history museums. I recreates period history that you can interact with and learn from! It is a great opprotunity learn about Indiana history, Eli Lilly and see the canal downtown.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Had a Groupon so thought we would check it out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I wasn't sure how much the Historical Society would have for the family to experience, so we investigated using a Groupon (w/o the Groupon I found the admission prices a little high). There were interactive exhibits with real life actors portraying scenes that you walk into and can participate in. While a little intimidating for introverts, it seemed a great way to actually remember some facts! The interactive computers about different areas of the state and the large screen video were interesting and kept our 7 year olds' attention for some time. There were even free hands-on activities involving learning about preserving documents. We will be returning as the exhibits rotate.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Historical Society also viewed

 

Been to Indiana Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Historical Society, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Indiana Historical Society to your Saves list