We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Indianapolis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Historical Society

Indiana Historical Society
450 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202 (Downtown Indianapolis)
317-232-1882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 85 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: History Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Since 1830, the Indiana Historical Society has been Indiana’s Storyteller™, connecting people to the past by collecting, preserving, interpreting and sharing the state's history. A private, nonprofit membership organization, IHS maintains the nation's premier research library and archives on the history of Indiana and the Old Northwest and presents a unique set of visitor exhibitions called the Indiana Experience. IHS also provides support and assistance to local museums and historical groups, publishes books and periodicals; sponsors teacher workshops; and provides youth, adult and family programming.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Indianapolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

You do not think Museum when you hear Historical Society - yet this building in addition to being a great research collection has an amazing interactive collection that puts the viewer into the historic event. There are rotating exhibits with period actors playing the parts of the history being described. And the food downstairs is good as well! Best time is in late spring when you can eat outside along the canal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Histroy coming to life!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Indiana Historical Society provides a new concept in history museums. I recreates period history that you can interact with and learn from! It is a great opprotunity learn about Indiana history, Eli Lilly and see the canal downtown.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Had a Groupon so thought we would check it out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I wasn't sure how much the Historical Society would have for the family to experience, so we investigated using a Groupon (w/o the Groupon I found the admission prices a little high). There were interactive exhibits with real life actors portraying scenes that you walk into and can participate in. While a little intimidating for introverts, it seemed a great way to actually remember some facts! The interactive computers about different areas of the state and the large screen video were interesting and kept our 7 year olds' attention for some time. There were even free hands-on activities involving learning about preserving documents. We will be returning as the exhibits rotate.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Impressive live interactive exhibits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We found some extra time on our hands while in Indianapolis for Thanksgiving, so journeyed to the History Center to see what we could learn about the Hoosier State! Wow! Their web site claims that they have a new way to experience history, and they aren't making idle claims. We were most impressed with the "You are there" exhibits. Researchers at the musuem choose photographs of a certain event or era, then recreate a live exhibit, keeping everything historically accurate. We experienced an exhibit on the prohibition era (talked to a jailed person and two guards, as well as a temperance leader), another on ending polio (talked to workers who were packaging the life-saving new vaccine while awaiting federal approval for it), and our favorite, a 1939 exhibit on the use of the electrocardiograph -- and what life was like for black physicians. The people in the exhibits entertain questions from the visitors, but keep their answers historically accurate. Their dress, mannerisms, vocabulary, as well as the background and props, all are re-created from historical photograhs. There is even an exhibit elsewhere in the musuem that details the painstaking process of creating these live exhibits.
Don't miss the Cole Porter room, where a muscian will sing your favorite Cole Porter songs in a beautiful lounge!
There is a great movie presentation about Indiana at the beginning, with an opportunity to sit and enjoy the entire presentation or get up and investigate an era at a time at separate stations.
There is also a great display of famous Hoosiers, where one can sit and enjoy the presentation at any time, since it runs in a continual loop.
And there is even a display about the origins of the word "Hoosier!" Who knew?
Each display (and there are many) was thoughtfully presented, but the whole experience was designed for all kinds of people: those who prefer to move, those who prefer to sit, those who like to talk (!), those who prefer to listen. But everyone must come with a sense of curiosity!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a one of a kind type of place. The Historical Society has three "being there" experiences that allow you to literally step through historically significant pictures back in time to important events throughout Indiana history. When I went, there was a polio vaccine factory, a prohibition raid and the apartment of a Holocaust survivor. The museum is set up so that when you step through the picture, it takes you to a room of reinactment actors who you can speak with and who will tell you about what is going on in the scene. Highly recommended for anyone looking for something interesting to do. I will definitely be back on my next trip through Indianapolis!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Historical Society also viewed

 

Been to Indiana Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Historical Society, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.