We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No carb diet?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
117 E. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-638-4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 2,186 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. Pennsylvania St.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No carb diet?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

It's been difficult to maintain a low carb diet primarily because I miss the potatoes, bread and pasta. The meats here were so good I didn't miss the carbs at all. The gauchos bring an excellent variety and carve at your table. The lamb chops and bottom roast are out if this world and I can't wait to go back. One of the best salad bars I've ever seen. If you've never been there its a must

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Watercooled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
274 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Another great Fogo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I've eaten at many Fogo de chao restaurants in the country. This one does not disappoint. Good service and good food as expected!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EfficientTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious/ True Brazilian Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This restaurant is exactly what you are looking for in fine dining. The salad bar offers high end options. The special preparations of the meat make delicious offerings. The gauchos continue to offer all cuts of beef, pork, chicken, and our favorite, lamb. Served just as you request. And, if you are wanting a special cut of meat, they will gladly serve you exactly as you request. The papaya cream is a wonderful after dinner dessert to help settle your tummy, highly recommend it after eating a lot of meat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank indymacthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Food: delicious! Service: outstanding. Alex was a very conscientious, attentive, and polite server. I've never been disappointed at Fogo.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey, but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Indianapolis over Valentine's Day weekend and had the pleasure of dining at Fogo De Chao. My wife has been to Brazil several times and had eaten at true Brazilian steakhouses. She had nothing but high praise for Fogo De Chao. I will admit the wait staff were a bit slow coming around with the meat, and it did take a fair bit to get the check; however, my wife and I merely used the time to talk and catch up.

The salad bar is like none other. The selection spans quite a range, and the food is prepared impeccably. I could have just dined at the salad bar and been happy.

The various steaks and other meat items were prepared very well and had a great flavor. It was nice being able to sample such a variety and to only eat what you wanted to eat. The side dishes were okay, but not great. I did enjoy the polenta, but the plantains and mashed potatoes were just okay.

I would recommend this restaurant to any couples looking for a nice atmosphere and great food. I did see a few group of guys hanging out and eating their weight in perfectly prepared steak as well.

To sum it up, this restaurant is insanely pricey but it's a great experience and well worth trying out. I would definitely take my wife here again. I will just allow my wallet some time to replenish itself from the beating it took.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wb8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing