We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat Lovers Delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo De Chao

Fogo De Chao
117 E. Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204
+1 317-638-4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo De Chao is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 2,029 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. Pennsylvania St.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Excellent service from the hostess at the front door, to others wishing us a good evening as we left the restaurant. Excellent wine list, which went perfectly with our meal. Great selection on the salad bar, which is NOT your typical salad bar. Wonderful selections from the cheeses, asparagus, salmon, and tabooley. Meat brought back to our table if we requested a more rare cut that what the server had/ very prompt. Is pricey, but we enjoyed every bite

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    86
    28
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Plenty of great meet, very good service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

a bit pricey, but if you like good meat in large quantities you can make this a great deal out of this. Great if you are with a group of people since there is no ordering.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meat meat and more meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

A meat lovers paradise. Salad bar was good too. I was there with a large group and the food and wine was great. Didn't have to pay so was even better.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Celebrating a Special Birthday!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This experience was a real let down. It was not the price ( which is almost $50) a person. It was first the un welcoming personality of the hostess followed by what seemed to be a waiter who had no personality let alone any great service skills. Especially from the moment we did not order alcohol his mood got even worse. So sorry but within our party of 13 ( our bill for the evening was $936.00 including an 18% tip & dessert) we have a recovering alcoholic so of course we would not want to enable or put it in front of them for obvious reasons. The meal was sub par...the only two meats to even speak of that were worth eating were the Parmesan Pork and the house speciality being a top sirloin cut. All other meats were extremely fatty with little to no flavor. And of course that was if you could get it chewed or swallow it down. The desserts ordered were pretty good but nothing to write home about and prices start at $8.00. If we had not been celebrating a special birthday I would have demanded the 18% gratuity adjusted or even taken off the service was so bad. Top it off the server had the audacity to come and pick up the bill off the table after it had been paid to make sure he had the receipt. Really??? Who trained him??? You never pick up the bill off the table till your patrons leave. If you are looking for great steak/meat stick to Ruth Chris or Petersons Restaurant. What you pay for here is the experience of seeing a lot meat being carried around the room! In this economy put your money somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brazil in Indy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

What I liked the most about Fogo was that you can just get a bit of everything and try stuff, whatever you like, you just get more! Warning!!! You will need to go home and crawl into bed after Fogo De Chao!!!!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo De Chao also viewed

 
 

Been to Fogo De Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo De Chao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.