We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands Down the BEST doughnuts you will ever eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long's Bakery

Long's Bakery
2301 E Southport Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46227
(317) 783-1442
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 2,028 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Restaurant details
Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hands Down the BEST doughnuts you will ever eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Grew up eating Long's & if you haven't tried them, you MUST; after you do, you get it. Cash only & don't expect to have a seat & enjoy your doughnuts or pastries in the store, as it is a small place with no tables/chairs. Not exactly the fanciest looking place inside or out & the employees aren't going to knock your socks off with their friendliess, but once you taste anything here, you don't care about any of that!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best yeast donuts ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My Dad started taking me to Long's Bakery when I was just a little boy. Their warm yeast donuts are worth the wait and will melt in your mouth. Now my daughter and I share them for a special treat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing donuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

This bakery is small but has a good selection of donuts and pastries. Be prepared to wait in line if you go on a weekend morning. Also make sure you bring cash, no credit cards are accepted here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago vicinity
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Always great pastries, but not always friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

As donut places go, Long's is one of the better ones. We stop there everytime we're in Indianapolis, which is 5-6 times per year. My wife loves the one with carmel and I like the 'gators (a sweet roll). My only complaint is that too many of the clerks come across as having a bad day... all the time. Maybe its because they have to be there so dang early, maybe its because the place is always busy.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“honey glaze doughnuts melt in your mouth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

honey glaze doughnuts melt in your mouth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Long's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.