We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Lights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Zoo

Indianapolis Zoo
1200 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46222
317 630-2001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 89 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Home to over 2,000 animals and Indiana's largest aquarium, this 64-acre zoo has lions, elephants and other wild animals roaming through natural settings. A special petting area allows children to touch, but not feed, the tamer animals. There's also the world's largest enclosed dolphin show and a roller-coaster for all ages to enjoy.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went for Christmas lights. I am a Chicagoan - you know Lincoln Park Zoo? I thought Indy was even better!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    292
    146
    25
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is one of the cleanest zoos I have ever visited. It has a nice layout so you can easily maneuver your way around. The underground area under the dolphin tank is really cool. A must for families with kids visiting Indy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun day out with the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great time and way for families to spend time together. The animals are amazing and the kids have a great time!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok Zoo!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Finally had a fairly nice day in January and took in the zoo. It was a pretty average zoo. Would have been better in the spring and summer for sure!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Zoo Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family and I have been members of the zoo for the past two years. I have a three year old son and we never tire of the zoo. We went probably 15 times last year and had a great time each one. I've been to a lot of zoos and this one is right up at the top of my list.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indianapolis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.