We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Lights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Zoo

Indianapolis Zoo
1200 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46222
317 630-2001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 198 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to over 2,000 animals and Indiana's largest aquarium, this 64-acre zoo has lions, elephants and other wild animals roaming through natural settings. A special petting area allows children to touch, but not feed, the tamer animals. There's also the world's largest enclosed dolphin show and a roller-coaster for all ages to enjoy.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went for Christmas lights. I am a Chicagoan - you know Lincoln Park Zoo? I thought Indy was even better!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    332
    167
    26
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is one of the cleanest zoos I have ever visited. It has a nice layout so you can easily maneuver your way around. The underground area under the dolphin tank is really cool. A must for families with kids visiting Indy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun day out with the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great time and way for families to spend time together. The animals are amazing and the kids have a great time!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok Zoo!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Finally had a fairly nice day in January and took in the zoo. It was a pretty average zoo. Would have been better in the spring and summer for sure!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Zoo Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family and I have been members of the zoo for the past two years. I have a three year old son and we never tire of the zoo. We went probably 15 times last year and had a great time each one. I've been to a lot of zoos and this one is right up at the top of my list.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indianapolis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.