We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art appreciation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Museum of Art

Indianapolis Museum of Art
4000 Michigan Road, Indianapolis, IN 46208
317-923-1331
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 80 attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Owner description: Impressive collection includes major works of art from all over the world plus a superb display of prints, photographs and textile art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
new york
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Art appreciation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Its very eye catching museum. The grounds are nice to wander around.
Friendly greeters as soon as you walk in who will give direction and answer questions if needed.

Major emphasis is the European art. Some of the galleries are designed in their unique styles just to showcase that particular artist. The use of outdoor space and indoor exhibit are calming. you feel the thoughtfulness of the designer and will linger to appreciate the art.

No admission, and we park on the driveway like everyone else without charge.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    84
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

For starters, there is no entrance fee. The museum itself is a magnificent place with an excellent collection artwork from asia and africa. Their contemporary american pieces including works by Hopper are a definite must see.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly the art was very nice and the kids loved it. I really liked the flow of the museum. Tge weather was very nice to walk outside and see the art

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Botanical Gardens & Lily House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is one of the top places outside of downtown that I recommend people to go. The IMA Musuem and grounds (gardens) are FREE. All you have to pay is for parking. (TIP: You may be able to park for free by the greenhouse). The botanical gardens are my favorite part. So many great flowers, water features, green areas, etc. I'm not as much of a fan of the newer added part called the 100 acres. That can be left to see last if you have the time or great on a 2nd visit. Lily House is a nice tour as well done during the summer months. Check out the greenhouse while you're there too. There is a nice cafe inside the museum that serves food, beverages, and alcohol if you want a nice break. If you like to bike ride, find the information for the Central Canal Tow Path that goes behind the musuem that connects with bike paths Downtown Indy & Broadripple and bike to the IMA.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the IMA and we loved the museum. We parked in a free lot and admission is free as well. After seeing the collection we made a donation and we will definitely return. The collection was excellent-- the museum had nice selection of pointillism pieces including a Seurat and we were both very impressed with the size of the contemporary collection on the third floor. We can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indianapolis Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.