We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art appreciation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Museum of Art

Indianapolis Museum of Art
4000 Michigan Road, Indianapolis, IN 46208
+1 317-923-1331
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 138 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 54,000 works of art, an early-20th-century estate, 152 acres of gardens and grounds, including an outdoor art and nature park, the IMA campus offers experiences that feed both the heart and mind.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
new york
Level Contributor
163 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Art appreciation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Its very eye catching museum. The grounds are nice to wander around.
Friendly greeters as soon as you walk in who will give direction and answer questions if needed.

Major emphasis is the European art. Some of the galleries are designed in their unique styles just to showcase that particular artist. The use of outdoor space and indoor exhibit are calming. you feel the thoughtfulness of the designer and will linger to appreciate the art.

No admission, and we park on the driveway like everyone else without charge.

Visited March 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

For starters, there is no entrance fee. The museum itself is a magnificent place with an excellent collection artwork from asia and africa. Their contemporary american pieces including works by Hopper are a definite must see.

Visited March 2013
Thank jsn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff was very friendly the art was very nice and the kids loved it. I really liked the flow of the museum. Tge weather was very nice to walk outside and see the art

Thank tsims31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Amazing Botanical Gardens & Lily House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is one of the top places outside of downtown that I recommend people to go. The IMA Musuem and grounds (gardens) are FREE. All you have to pay is for parking. (TIP: You may be able to park for free by the greenhouse). The botanical gardens are my favorite part. So many great flowers, water features, green areas, etc. I'm not as much of a fan of the newer added part called the 100 acres. That can be left to see last if you have the time or great on a 2nd visit. Lily House is a nice tour as well done during the summer months. Check out the greenhouse while you're there too. There is a nice cafe inside the museum that serves food, beverages, and alcohol if you want a nice break. If you like to bike ride, find the information for the Central Canal Tow Path that goes behind the musuem that connects with bike paths Downtown Indy & Broadripple and bike to the IMA.

Visited September 2012
2 Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the IMA and we loved the museum. We parked in a free lot and admission is free as well. After seeing the collection we made a donation and we will definitely return. The collection was excellent-- the museum had nice selection of pointillism pieces including a Seurat and we were both very impressed with the size of the contemporary collection on the third floor. We can't wait to return!

1 Thank robertmoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed


Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing