We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great art collection, and the price is right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Museum of Art

Indianapolis Museum of Art
4000 Michigan Road, Indianapolis, IN 46208
+1 317-923-1331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 195 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 54,000 works of art, an early-20th-century estate, 152 acres of gardens and grounds, including an outdoor art and nature park, the IMA campus offers experiences that feed both the heart and mind.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great art collection, and the price is right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Love to visit the art museum (IMA). I have yet to visit and see the whole place. I prefer to go when they don't have a popular special exhibit because it is less crowded and I can really look at the art. I also prefer to visit int he summer because the grounds are amazing with beautiful flowers and sculptures.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    140
    20
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's worth a visit. Free entry, small fee for parking and lot to see for few hours. Lot's of different sections.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great museum and grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The art collection of the museum was interesting and fun to look at, but the most enjoyable part was walking around the incredibly landscaped and maintained grounds.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Indianapolis Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Museum of Art is well organized and has a very helpful and knowledgeable staff. I was slightly disappointed in the Cafe, not because of the food, but because it used to be Wolfgang Puck's restaurant, which I highly enjoyed. The Cafe now just offers your basics with a limited selection of wine and beer and non-alcoholic beverages. Little pricey, but the people behind the counter are helpful in suggestions and knowledgeable. I went to the Toby Center (or "Tobias Center") for an event and it was well organized and very enjoyable. Parking is ample and 5.00 for non-members of the Museum. Pretty grounds to view in the right weather and the Museum is easy to get in and out of. I would recommend the IMA and will go again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“halloween”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

took the grandkids to the halloween haunted house. It was perfect for the younger kids. The parking was good...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indianapolis Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.