We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Museum of Art

Indianapolis Museum of Art
4000 Michigan Road, Indianapolis, IN 46208
317-923-1331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 65 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Impressive collection includes major works of art from all over the world plus a superb display of prints, photographs and textile art.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Otter Rock, Oregon
2 reviews
“Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Its a must stop in indianapolis! The art is amazing! It is worth the drive and traffic. My family and I spent a good part of the day there!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    120
    20
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not just Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is truly a gem in Indianapolis; while there are museums with greater art collections, very few could compare with the grounds. There are lovely gardens and outdoor areas; there is a small building with a library for those interested in horticulture. There is an outdoor art area with many unusual sculptures and exhibits. The views of the river are beautiful and there are many activities throughout the year, including classic movies on the terrace, the Penrod Art Festival and tours of the Lilly Mansion. The shops are also very good, including a garden shop and the museum shops. The best part is that admission is normally free, but parking is not. A wonderful way to spend the day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum and collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

An eclectic collection of art works with many outstanding collections of renown artists. The Pointillism works were amazing and were the works of O'Keefe, Rockwell and a host of other well known artists. The Japanese exhibit of vases, silkscreens and sculpture covered a large period of time and demonstrated the beauty and history of the country.

The museum was free and well worth a visit. Parking was $5. A very nice food area and the museum store was a great place to shop for gifts for any occasion. It is a little ways from downtown but a must for all to see.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This wonderful art museum is almost in my backyard (well, two hours away), but I visited for the first time only a couple of years ago. If I lived in Indy, I'd visit much more often. Another visit this year - just wonderful! Admission is free - this is a great way to promote art to people of all ages. The grounds are lovely - my recent visit was in the spring, and flowers were gorgeous!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“FREE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely museum, nice cafe and excellent gift shop. All things I like in a museum. I did pay for parking but was fine with that as the museum was free. several levels with assorted galleries.There was a pretty neat family day type activity going on as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indianapolis Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.