We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Museum of Art

Indianapolis Museum of Art
4000 Michigan Road, Indianapolis, IN 46208
+1 317-923-1331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 198 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 54,000 works of art, an early-20th-century estate, 152 acres of gardens and grounds, including an outdoor art and nature park, the IMA campus offers experiences that feed both the heart and mind.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Otter Rock, Oregon
2 reviews
“Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Its a must stop in indianapolis! The art is amazing! It is worth the drive and traffic. My family and I spent a good part of the day there!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    145
    22
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not just Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is truly a gem in Indianapolis; while there are museums with greater art collections, very few could compare with the grounds. There are lovely gardens and outdoor areas; there is a small building with a library for those interested in horticulture. There is an outdoor art area with many unusual sculptures and exhibits. The views of the river are beautiful and there are many activities throughout the year, including classic movies on the terrace, the Penrod Art Festival and tours of the Lilly Mansion. The shops are also very good, including a garden shop and the museum shops. The best part is that admission is normally free, but parking is not. A wonderful way to spend the day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum and collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

An eclectic collection of art works with many outstanding collections of renown artists. The Pointillism works were amazing and were the works of O'Keefe, Rockwell and a host of other well known artists. The Japanese exhibit of vases, silkscreens and sculpture covered a large period of time and demonstrated the beauty and history of the country.

The museum was free and well worth a visit. Parking was $5. A very nice food area and the museum store was a great place to shop for gifts for any occasion. It is a little ways from downtown but a must for all to see.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This wonderful art museum is almost in my backyard (well, two hours away), but I visited for the first time only a couple of years ago. If I lived in Indy, I'd visit much more often. Another visit this year - just wonderful! Admission is free - this is a great way to promote art to people of all ages. The grounds are lovely - my recent visit was in the spring, and flowers were gorgeous!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“FREE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely museum, nice cafe and excellent gift shop. All things I like in a museum. I did pay for parking but was fine with that as the museum was free. several levels with assorted galleries.There was a pretty neat family day type activity going on as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indianapolis Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.