We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racing Mecca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum

Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum
4790 W 16th St, Indianapolis, IN 46222
317 484-8655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 89 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Race Car Tracks, Specialty Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Indy Speedway, dating back to 1909, is one of the most famous car raceways in the world. Even if you can't join the crowd of 400,000 that comes each May to watch the celebrated Indy 500, stop by for a minibus ride on the speedway. Then visit the museum that traces race car history, including a display of restored speed demons, starting with the first Indy winner in 1911.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Racing Mecca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I grew up watching the Indy 500 and idolizing those drivers in the 70s & 80s. Getting to go on track, through the VIP suites, press rooms, garages, etc. was a thrill. The museum is great. A ton of artifacts, photos, & historic race cars.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    234
    52
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding motor sports museum and attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I grew up in Central Indiana and have fond memories of listening to the 500 on the radio at family events. Visiting the IMS Hall of Fame Museum brings those memories near!

This is a very nice destination for anyone interested in motor sports or, the development of automobiles and the automobile culture of the US. The museum houses a multitude of past race winners and memorabilia. There are great tributes to the drivers, designers and all those who helped create the greatest spectacle in racing.

You have the option of only visiting the museum for a small fee or, you can take a guided tour of the track and the facilities. We took the full tour and enjoyed the photo ops at the start finish, in victory lane, and in the press center.

This is a very entertaining exhibit for the whole family that will take at least a couple of hours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy the races!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been to the track for races, qualitifications and a school field trip. Field trip wasn't quite as much fun as it rained hard most of the time we were there. Always enjoy the races though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargersville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Car Seat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My most vivid memory of this facility is being able to sit in an actual car and view from the seat of the driver. It's a realization of how low you are and the view you have from their position Staggering!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Historic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We probably visit the speedway once per year. The museum is well done. Make sure to catch the movie. And don't forget to go upstairs and check out the photo library. Very informative and helpful staff. Ask for the AAA discount. Take the bus tour. There wasn't a grounds tour on the day we were there, but we will be back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.