We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum
4790 W 16th St, Indianapolis, IN 46222
317 484-8655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 196 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indy Speedway, dating back to 1909, is one of the most famous car raceways in the world. Even if you can't join the crowd of 400,000 that comes each May to watch the celebrated Indy 500, stop by for a minibus ride on the speedway. Then visit the museum that traces race car history, including a display of restored speed demons, starting with the first Indy winner in 1911.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Martin, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved seeing the cars and we took a bus tour and was able to go on the track! That was very fun! Glad we did it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    266
    55
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Tour Is Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The museum is awesome and the track is hallowed ground for any sports fan. My son and I took the track tour and it was very cool. You get to ride in a bus around the track and actually walk on the front stretch. The only time you'll ever get to do this-I've got the greatest picture of my son climbing the infield fence. We got to go up in the press box and stand in the winner's circle. It was a really special day.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to take out of town guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A great place in Indiana to take out of town guests, especially if they are car and/or racing enthusiasts. The museum isn't the biggest, but a perfect size to make a fun morning or afternoon and partner with a good meal nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great Museum - fun for all. Racing is fun, but you must remember this is not a small track and you will not see everything like at a small track. Stands are hot partially because they are have closed in bottoms and does not allow airflow. Pack a cool hat, plenty of sunscreen and cold drinks. We always pack some moistened handkercheifs or hand towels in zip bags and add them to our cooler - they really help. Like any outdoor event - plan for everything. Have fun!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Brickyard 400 was Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I went to the Brickyard 400 for the first time this year and will be making return visits in the years to come. We had a great time and the sounds of the cars coming off turn 4 are something to experience. Lots of sunscreen is needed here and drink plenty of water it gets hot!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.